Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

How to re-register an accidentally registered server as a new server?

This article applies to:

  • OS: Windows, Linux
  • Product edition: Phoenix

Overview

This article provides the steps to re-register a server that was supposed to replace an existing server but was accidentally registered as a new server on the Phoenix Management Console. In such a case, Phoenix backs up both the servers simultaneously.

For example:

A Windows 2008 File Server configured on the Phoenix Management Console was supposed to be replaced by Windows 2012 R2 File Server. However, Windows 2012 R2 File server got registered as a new server on Phoenix. Therefore, two servers are backed up from Phoenix.

Re-register an existing server

The procedure to follow on the respective operating systems is as follows:

On Windows:

  1. Stop the Druva Phoenix Service on the new server.
  2. On the Task Manager, verify if there are any Phoenix related processes running. Wait for them to exit or end them manually.
  3. Go to C;\ProgramData\  folder and rename the Phoenix folder to Phoenix_old. The folder contains the configuration information of the Phoenix Agent.
  4. Start the Druva Phoenix service and start the agent. The service asks for an activation token. If it does not, restart the service.
  5. Get the activation token of the older server from the Phoenix Management Console. See Server re-registration for more information.
  6. Register the new server using the token. This replaces the old server with the new server on the Phoenix Management Console. The server that was registered accidentally appears as disconnected on the console. The disconnected server can be deleted as required. 

On Linux:

  1. Stop the Phoenix agent.

    /etc/init.d/Phoenix stop
  2. Rename /etc/Phoenix, which contains the configuration information.
  3. Start the Phoenix service.

    /etc/init.d/Phoenix start
  4. Get the activation token of the older server from the Phoenix Management Console. See Server re-registration for more information.
  5. Register the new server using the token. This replaces the old server with the new server on the Phoenix Management Console. The server that was registered accidentally appears as disconnected on the console. The disconnected server can be deleted as required.