Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

Server re-registration

If you have migrated a registered server in Phoenix to a new server(replacement server), either as a part of your hardware refresh cycle or for disaster recovery purposes, you can use the Server re-registration option to replace the existing server with the replacement server in Phoenix.

Procedure

  1. Login to the Phoenix Management Console.
  2. In the menu bar, click All Organizations, and then select the organization that has the server to be re-registered.
  3. In the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux servers.
  4. In the Registered Servers page, click the server that needs to be re-registered to view the server details.
  5. In the server details page, click more options, and then click Re-Register Server.
  6. In the Re-Register Server dialog box, click Proceed.
  7. In the Download and Install Agent on the Server section, click Check Pre-requisite to check the Phoenix agent prerequisites.  In the Select OS dropdown, select the operating system of the server where you will install the Phoenix agent, and then click Download. The agent download begins in the same browser page. The agent is not downloaded on the destination server unless you click Download through the Phoenix Management Console on the destination server.


    Download page - Reregister new server.png
  8. Click Copy Token to copy the activation token for the replacement server activation.
    Note: The replacement server must be activated with the activation token generated at this stage. Activating with any other activation token will register the replacement server as a new server with Phoenix.
  9. After the agent is installed on the replacement server and it is activated with the token provided in the Re-Register New Server dialog box, the replacement server assumes the identity of the existing server in the Phoenix system.  Details like server name, agent version, platform of the existing server are replaced with the appropriate details of the replacement server.
  10. The restore points(snapshots) from the existing server can be viewed in the restore wizard of the replacement server and restores can be triggered from the restore wizard of the replacement server.

Note: Re-registration does not restore the non-default configuration parameters that might have been configured for the original server. Administrator must freshly configure these parameters after reactivation.

  • Was this article helpful?