Skip to main content


 

 

How can we help you?

 

 
Druva Documentation

Restore Groups data

Heads up!

We've transitioned to a new documentation portal to serve you better. Access the latest content by clicking here.

License editions: To understand the applicable license editions, see Plans & Pricing.

Overview

You can restore Groups data within your Microsoft 365 tenant - ensuring business-critical data is always available when you need it. 

You can view all the available snapshots and restore data. Restore an entire snapshot or restore only group settings. You can restore groups’ data to the same location or to a new group.

Notes

  • If a Group Site is quarantined then the corresponding entire group is quarantined. You cannot perform a full restore on this quarantined group data. 
  • You cannot restore or download the data if the associated group site is quarantined.

Restore considerations

  • Due to Microsoft API limitations, a Distribution group or Mail-enabled Security group will be restored as a new Microsoft 365 group. Also, you can’t restore owners of a Distribution group or Mail-enabled Security group. For more information, see Back up Groups data.

  • You can restore a group, which is deleted on the Microsoft 365 portal, as a new group only.

  • Restoring a group site associated with a Microsoft 365 Multi-Geo tenant will restore the site data to the same geo-location. If you change the geo-location during restore, the site data is still restored to the same geo-location.

  • When restoring data to a new group without any existing owners, Druva may add an owner to the group to ensure that the data is properly managed and protected. If a group has only one owner, then it is not possible to remove the owner from the group because every group must have at least one owner at all times to maintain control over the group's settings, members, and content.

  • Group owner added by Druva can inadvertently gain access to a non-subscribed group in the following scenarios: 

    • Restore abruptly ends - The owner added by Druva will get access forever.
    • Global admin is changed - Any owner added by Druva that could not be removed during the restore will get access forever.
    • Group has no owner or restore is tried without any owner - The owner added by Druva will get access until a new owner is added to the group.

Restore considerations due to Groups naming policy

When a restore is initiated, a group is created. The Microsoft Groups API leverages the Microsoft 365 groups naming policy and the new group is created as per the naming policy. 

For more information about the naming policy see, Microsoft 365 groups naming policy in the Microsoft documentation. 

Consider the following when you: 

  • Restore to a new group

  • Restore a deleted group

The group will be created as per the group naming policy wherein if you are using:  

  • Custom Blocked Words naming policy: The custom word that you have blocked in the naming policy will be appended with a three-digit randomly generated number when the new group is created. So the new group will be created with the name <blocked word><three digit number>. 

    For example,

    • Word blocked in the naming policy: Sample

    • Original group name: Development Sample

    • Restored new group name: Development Sample123 

    For more information, see Custom block words in the Microsoft documentation. 

  • Prefix-Suffix naming policy: The prefix or suffix you have defined in the naming policy will be appended to the new group. So the new group will be created with the name <Prefix>Name of the team<Suffix>
    For example, 

    • Prefix string: Company Name | Suffix string: Cost Code

    • Original group name: Development Sample

    • Restored new group name: CompanyNameDevelopment SampleCostCode

Note: Ensure that the restored group has no more than 256 characters or the restore will fail.

Restore specific Groups data

Note: Exclusive support for Planner restore is coming soon. Stay tuned for the latest updates!

You can restore group settings only.

Note: Ensure that the Group is in enabled state.

►Watch this video on how to restore Groups data

Procedure

 
  1. Sign in to Druva Cloud Platform Console and navigate to  Microsoft 365 > Groups.
  2. Select the group that you want to restore.
    Or 
    Click the group name hyperlink that you want to restore.
  3. Click Restore Data.
  4. From the Snapshot Viewer, select a snapshot to restore data.

    Note: The snapshots are displayed only when a Group and associated sites are backed up completely. The snapshots are not visible if the backup is in progress.

  5. Select group settings. View the snapshot details for the SharePoint site; select the site data that you want to restore.

  6. Click Restore. A dialog displaying the restore location appears.

  • To  restore to the same Group: 

    1. Select Restore to the same Group on the Restore Groups window.

    2. Click Next.

    3. Select the group’s settings to restore; you can restore the owners’ or members’ group settings. 

    4. Click Restore.

  • To Restore to a new Group:

    1. Select Restore as a new Group on the Restore Groups window.

    2. Enter the new group name to restore data.

    3. Specify the group visibility type: Private or Public. Select None if you are restoring a Security group.
      A private group requires permission to join group. In a public group, any member of the organization can join the group. 

      Note: If "Azure AD roles can be assigned to the group" setting is enabled on the Microsoft 365 portal, then you can restore data to a new group with the Private visibility type only.

    4. Click Next.
    5. Select the group’s settings to restore; you can restore the owners’ or members’ group settings. 
    6. Click Restore

Note: If a group doesn’t exist, the data is restored as a new group.

Restore full Group

You can restore an entire group, which restores Group Metadata, Planner and Site data. 

Note: Ensure that the Group is in the configured state.

Procedure

  1. Sign in to Druva Cloud Platform Console and navigate to  Microsoft 365 > Groups.
  2. Select the group that you want to restore.
    Or 
    Click the group name hyperlink that you want to restore.
  3. Click Restore Data.
  4. From the Snapshot Viewer, select a snapshot to restore data.

  5. Select the item that you want to restore.

  6. Click Restore Full Group. A dialog displaying the restore location appears. 

    restore_fullgroup.png

  • To  restore to the same Group: 

    1. Select Restore to the same Group on the Restore Groups window.

    2. Click Next.

    3. Select the group’s settings to restore; you can restore the owners’ or members’ group settings. 

    4. Click Restore.

  • To restore to a new Group:

    1. Select Restore as a new Group on the Restore Groups window.

    2. Enter the new group name to restore data.

    3. Specify the group visibility type: Private or Public. Select None if you are restoring a Security group.

      A private group requires permission to join group. In a public group, any member of the organization can join the group. 

      Note: If "Azure AD roles can be assigned to the group" setting is enabled on the Microsoft 365 portal, then you can restore data to a new group with the Private visibility type only.

    4. Click Next.
    5. Select the group’s settings to restore; you can restore the owners’ or members’ group settings. 
    6. Click Restore