Skip to main content


 

 

How can we help you?

 

 
Druva Documentation

Manage Teams

Better Help Ahead

Redirecting to our improved help portal. If you're not redirected, click here.

License editions: To understand the applicable license editions, see Plans & Pricing.

 Overview

Configure inSync to automatically discover any new Teams. Alternatively, you can manually define Teams discovery and configuration settings.

Edit Teams settings in inSync

Perform the following steps to modify and update the existing Team settings.

  1. Sign in to Druva Cloud Platform Console and navigate to  Microsoft 365 > Teams.
  2. Go to the Configured Groups tab and click any Group.
  3. On the Summary tab, scroll down to the Backup Settings section and click Edit. The Edit Backup Settings window is displayed.
    You can use either Default or Custom backup settings.
  4. Edit the required details and click Save

Note: If a Team is associated with any Group then it uses the backup settings specified for that Group. To edit the backup settings of such Teams, you must edit the backup settings of the associated Group.

Discover Teams manually

For Archived Teams, the  icon appears after a few minutes of discovery of Teams.

If the Enable Auto Configuration of Teams for Backup option under the Auto Configuration Settings is enabled, inSync automatically discovers new Teams every 24 hours. If you want inSync to discover any Teams before the next auto-discovery process runs, perform the following steps.

  1. Sign in to Druva Cloud Platform Console and navigate to  Microsoft 365 > Teams.
  2. Click clipboard_e462848c5227534899c776b8de2ae7a59.png to discover Teams.
    It discovers the teams added within your organization after the last auto-discovery process.

 If the Auto-assign storage option is enabled, inSync assigns the selected storage and the default backup and retention policies to the Teams. The discovered Teams appear on the Teams list page with Team Status as Enabled. If the Auto-assign storage option is disabled, the Team Status is Not Configured

When a particular team is deleted from Microsoft 365, the App Status of that team changes to Disabled in inSync. The discovery and scheduled backups for these teams are excluded in the subsequent discovery and backup cycle. However, you can perform a restore of these teams.

Enable backup for Teams

By default, when you configure Teams for backup, it is automatically enabled for backup.

If you disable backup for Teams, inSync retains previously backed up data.

To enable backup for previously disabled Teams:

  1. Sign in to Druva Cloud Platform Console and navigate to  Microsoft 365 > Teams.
  2. Go to the Configured Teams tab and select a Team that you want to enable for backup.
  3. Click Edit_icon.png and click Enable.

inSync now starts backing up the data in accordance with the set backup schedule.

When you enable Teams for backup, the status of Teams Metadata, Teams Conversation, and Teams SharePoint Online (SPO) site is updated automatically within inSync.

Disable backup for Teams

As an administrator, you can disable backup of Teams that are configured for backup.

When you disable backup of Teams, inSync stops backing up data for those Teams and retains the previously backed-up data.

If a backup is in progress, inSync completes the backup and then disables backup for those Teams.

To disable backup for Teams,

  1. Sign in to Druva Cloud Platform Console and navigate to  Microsoft 365 > Teams.
  2. Go to the Configured Teams tab and select a Team that you want to disable for backup.
  3. Click Edit_icon.png and click  Disable.

inSync stops backing up data of the selected Teams. 

In the future, if you want to back up these Teams again, you can enable the backup using the Enable option.

When you disable Teams for backup, the status of Teams Metadata, Teams Conversation, and Teams SharePoint Online (SPO) site is updated automatically within inSync.

When a particular team is deleted from Microsoft 365, the App Status of that team changes to Disabled in inSync. The discovery and scheduled backups for these teams are excluded in the subsequent discovery and backup cycle. However, you can perform a restore of these teams.

Delete Teams from inSync

As an administrator, you can delete Teams configured for backup anytime from inSync.

  • When you delete Teams, inSync permanently deletes all the data backed up for those Teams.
  • You can delete Teams for which the backup is in progress.
  • When you delete Teams, the Teams Metadata, Teams Conversation, and Teams SharePoint Online (SPO) site also automatically gets deleted from inSync.
  • You cannot delete Teams if it is enabled with Data Lock. 

 

To delete Teams from inSync,

  1. Sign in to Druva Cloud Platform Console and navigate to  Microsoft 365 > Teams.
  2. Go to the Configured Teams tab and select a Team that you want to delete.
  3. Click Edit_icon.png and click Delete.
  4. On the confirmation window, specify the reason for deletion (the reason is mandatory with a character limit between 10-150). The reason for deletion will be captured in the Admin Audit trail for auditing purposes.
  5. Click Delete.

All the data backed up for the Teams will be deleted temporarily. When you delete a configured Team, all the associated SharePoint sites will also be deleted. This consideration does not apply to the non-configured Teams.

You can rollback the deleted  Teams within a configurable rollback window. After the rollback window expires, the Teams will be deleted permanently. See Rollback Actions for details. 

To use Rollback Actions, you need the Security Essentials license. Contact Support to obtain the license. Currently, this feature is available only for the Public Cloud customers.

Rollback Considerations:

  • You cannot rollback Teams if you delete it, add the same Teams (through auto-discovery or another method) while the deleted Teams resides in Rollback Actions, and try to rollback the deleted Teams.
  • When you delete Teams, associated SharePoint sites will also be deleted. Similarly, when you rollback Teams, associated SharePoint sites will also be rolled back. The associated SharePoint sites deleted will not be displayed on the Rollback Actions page.
  • Was this article helpful?