Skip to main content

How can we help you?

Druva Documentation

Full Teams Restore

inSync Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite Plus File:/tick.png Elite File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Business

Overview

Use this option to restore the entire Team, channel contents, and settings along with the entire content and settings of the underlying Teams Site. With a single click, you can recreate an entire Team and its underlying Team Site content.

Microsoft API limitations
  • Native restore of Conversations (within Standard and Private Channels) is not supported.
  • Restore of Wiki data under the Wiki tab within Microsoft Teams is not supported. Wiki data is restored within the SharePoint Online site at this location: Site contents> Teams Wiki data - as .mht files><Channel Name>.

  • You can restore Private Channel data (Files and Wiki) only if the associated SharePoint site exists. Conversations are restored in HTML format under the Files tab.

  • Team Private Channel restore (for Private Channel folder) is limited to ‘In-Place’ restore only. You cannot restore the Private Channel folder to another existing or new Team.

Restore considerations due to Groups naming policy

When a restore is initiated, a group is created, and then the team is created. The Microsoft Groups API leverages the Microsoft 365 groups naming policy and the new team is created as per the naming policy. 

For more information about naming policy see, Microsoft 365 groups naming policy in the Microsoft documentation. 

Consider the following when you: 

  • Restore to a new team

  • Restore a deleted team

The team will be created as per the group naming policy wherein if you are using:  

  • Custom Blocked Words naming policy: The custom word that you have blocked in the naming policy will be appended with a three-digit randomly generated number when the new team is created. So the new team will be created with the name <blocked word><three digit numer>. 

    For example,

    • Word blocked in the naming policy: Sample

    • Orginal team name: Development Sample

    • Restored new team name: Development Sample123 

For more information see, Custom block words in the Microsoft documentation. 

  • Prefix-Suffix naming policy: The prefix or suffix you have defined in the naming policy will be appended to the new team. So the new team will be created with the name <Prefix>Name of the team<Suffix>

    For example, 

    • Prefix string: Company Name | Suffix string: Cost Code

    • Orginal team name: Development Sample

    • Restored new team name: CompanyNameDevelopment SampleCostCode

Note: Ensure that the restored team has no more than 256 characters or the restore will fail.

Procedure

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar,  click icon.png the icon to access the global navigation panel.
  2. Click SaaS Apps.
  3. Click Microsoft 365. An overview page with a holistic view of all the configured Microsoft 365 app appears.
  4. On the left-hand panel, click Teams.
  5. On the Teams page, click the Team name that you want to restore. 
  6. On the Team's Summary page, click Restore Data.
  7. On the Snapshot Viewer page, use the snapshot selector to select the snapshot from where you want to restore data. 
  8. Click Restore Full team.
    Full_Team_Restore.png
  9. In the confirmation dialog box, click Continue. The Restore Options window appears.
    Perform the actions mentioned in the table below as per your restore requirements.
    Note: Review the Microsoft API Limitations for Teams
    Restore Location Restore Options Description
    Restore to the same team

    In-Place Restore: Existing data is replaced with the data selected for restore.

    By default, Permissions, Members, and Apps are selected. You can optionally, restore Members.

    Restore option replaces existing data with selected data. 

    Restore to a new team

    A new team is created after the restore is successful.

    Note: Restore to a new Team is supported only for Standard Channels. Private Channels do not get restored for a new Team. 

    By default, Permissions, Members, and Apps are selected. You can optionally, restore Members. 
     

    To restore to a new team you need to provide the name of the new team. Also, choose whether the new team should be a public or a private team.

    Note: A new team is created at the root level. It includes all the Team data and the settings selected for the restore option.

     

  10. Through the Activity Stream view the details and download logs of completed restore activity.
  • Was this article helpful?