This topic describes the following sections:
- Restore workflow on the same File server
- Restore workflow on a new File server
- Steps to restore File server
- What you must know about File server restore
Steps to restore File server
You or another administrator initiates a restore operation.
You can restore the data at the original location or an alternate location. The alternate location can be the same server and different path or different server and different path.
You can select the destination server where restore can happen for the selected File server restore point. For example, Windows server for Windows restore and Linux server for Linux restore.
Phoenix checks if Phoenix agent is running.
Phoenix validates the restore destination.
Phoenix checks the free space available at the restore destination.
Phoenix identifies the file sets for restore.
Phoenix starts the restore operation and sequentially downloads the filesets to the restore destination.
What you must know about File server restore
Points that you should know about the File server restore:
- Hot snapshots reside on Phoenix CloudCache for a period that you have specified at the time of Configure Phoenix CloudCache.
- If you are a group administrator, you can only restore data to a server that belongs to an administrative group that you manage. Cloud administrators can restore data to servers across administrative groups.
- If you are a group administrator, you can only restore data to a server that belongs to an administrative group that you manage. Cloud administrators and data protection officers can restore data to servers across administrative groups.
- You can only restore data to a server that has the same operating system as the source server.
- In the event of a network connection failure at the time of restore, Phoenix agent attempts to connect to the Phoenix Cloud. After the network connection is restored, Phoenix agents restart the restoring from the state where they were interrupted.
- If you restart or reboot your servers during a restore, the restore operation restarts.
- If you choose to restore data to the same location, the existing data at that location is overwritten.
- The snapshot timestamps are displayed according to the server time zone. For example, for servers located in New York and London, the timestamps are displayed according to EST and UTC time zones, respectively.
- Restores are not supported to the mapped drives.
- For Windows, the following file attributes are supported:
- Content Not indexed.
- All the Access Control Lists (ACL's) are restored.
- For Linux,
- File permissions for file owners, groups, and users are restored.
- File attributes are not supported.
- ACL permissions are not supported.
- The following special permissions for files and folders is not supported:
- Sticky bit
- From version 4.6.8 and later, Phoenix can back up and restore the empty folders. After the upgrade, the Windows File server agent where USN journal is enabled:
- The empty folders created before the last backup and before the client upgrade will not be backed up. Contact Druva Support to back up these empty folders.
- The empty folders created after the last backup but before the client upgrade will be backed up.
The Windows File server agent where UNC share is configured for backup, empty folders in the UNC share, created before and after the upgrade will be backed up and restored.
After the Linux File server agent upgrade, the empty folders created before and after the upgrade will be backed up and restored.
- Backup and restore can run simultaneously on the same agent.
- For mixed workloads, you can trigger the restore for File server backup set and MS-SQL server backup set simultaneously.
- If you trigger a restore request for a File server backup set while another restore is in progress for the same File server backup set, the triggered restore request is queued.
- File server agents earlier than version 4.6.9 cannot run a backup and restore request simultaneously. If a restore request is triggered while a backup is in progress, the following message is displayed:
- If you select the Cancel Backup and Start Restore option, the backup in progress is canceled and an error PHOENIX247 is displayed on the Jobs page. The triggered restore request is processed.
- If you select the Start Restore After Backup is Finished option, the triggered restore request is queued.
- File server agents earlier than version 4.6.9, the backup request triggered while a restore is in progress is queued.
- Full scan restores will be marked with the icon.