Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

Snapshots that you can restore

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

For a File server, you can restore the following snapshots:

Hot snapshot restore

A Hot snapshot restore is an on-demand restore of the server data that resides on Phoenix CloudCache. Hot snapshot is a point-in-time image of the backup data stored on Phoenix CloudCache. Such a restore operation continues until the server data is restored to the specified location.

To locate Hot snapshots, select the required backup set from either the server details page, or the File Backup Sets page and then click Restore. The Snapshot Viewer displays the date and timestamp of the latest snapshot. Click the dropdown next to it, click the Hot tab and then select the snapshot that you want to restore from. 

Hot snapshot.png

Warm snapshot restore

A Warm snapshot restore is restoring of point-in-time images of the backup data dating back to 90 days in time that are stored in the warm storage. Such a restore operation continues until the server data is restored to the specified location.

To locate Warm snapshots, select the required backup set from either the server details page, or the File Backup Sets page and then click Restore. The Snapshot Viewer displays the date and timestamp of the latest snapshot. Click the dropdown next to it, click the Warm tab and then select the snapshot that you want to restore from. 

Warm snapshot.png

Cold snapshot restore

The availability of this feature is limited based on the license type, region, and other criteria. To access this feature, contact your Druva Account Manager or Druva Support. This content is subject to change based on the continuous improvements to this feature.

Cold snapshots are point-in-time copies of backup data older than 15 days. These snapshots are stored in the Amazon Glacier Deep Archive. To restore data from cold snapshots, data needs to be first retrieved from Amazon Glacier Deep Archive before a restore can be triggered. At the time of restore, data from the cold tier is retrieved, moved temporarily to the warm tier, and then restored. Once you click Restore and initiate the restoration process, the data retrieval from cold tier and its restore from the warm tier happen automatically. Warmed up data is deleted from the warm tier after 10 days.

To restore cold snapshots

  1. Log in to the Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux Servers.
  4. In the left navigation pane, click File Backup Sets.
  5. In the right pane, select the backup set that you want to restore and then click Restore.
  6. In the Snapshot Viewer, click the Cold tab, select the snapshot, and then click Restore.

Quarantined and deleted snapshots 

Quarantined snapshots

If your environment is infected with Ransomware, you can quarantine snapshots using Druva Realize. You can also quarantine the snapshots using the Quarantine snapshots on a resource API. With Phoenix APIs, you can integrate Ransomware recovery with your existing security tools. You can also build custom scripts to automate action if there is a ransomware attack.

The availability of the ransomware feature in Druva Realize may be limited based on the license type, region, and other criteria. To access this feature, contact your Druva Account Manager or Druva Support.

 

Quarantined snapshots have a lock symbol next to them.

Snapshot Quarantined.png

Phoenix allows you to view the data in the quarantined snapshot and delete such snapshots. However, you cannot restore files from such snapshots. To view a list of quarantined files, see Audit Trails.

Quarantined snapshot cant restore.png

If you select a file(s) from search results and that file(s) belongs to a quarantined snapshot, you will get the following error message.

quarantined files.png

For more information, see Ransomware Recovery for Servers

Deleted snapshots

Snapshots are deleted from storage, after the duration in the retention settings has lapsed. There could be instances where the snapshots have been deleted manually. The metadata information might still reference files that are part of these snapshots. These files are still visible through search, but cannot be restored. 

deleted files.png

If you select multiple versions of a file and some of these versions belong to restore points that are quarantined or deleted, Phoenix restores the files that can be restored. The list of all the quarantined and (or) deleted files that could not be restored is visible in the Audit Trails.

If all the files that you searched for and selected belong to snapshots that are quarantined or deleted or both, you are restricted from restoring them.

 

 

  • Was this article helpful?