Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

Manage backup set

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

This topic provides an overview of what backup set is. It also provides instructions to add and delete a backup set attached to your server.

Overview

A backup set is a combination of workload, backup content, and backup policy. A backup set is defined for a server and you can attach multiple backup sets to your Windows/Linux server. 

 You can add backup sets from the server details page.

This topic describes the following sections:

Add a backup set

You can create multiple backup sets to back up different files and folders, and databases at different schedules.  Before you create a backup set, review the following:

  • For a File server, you can add multiple folders across volumes to the same backup set. If you do not need distinct backup retention for different data on the physical server, do not create separate backup sets.
  • Ensure that you do not create multiple backup sets with the overlapping backup content. The overlapping content gets backed up multiple times.
  • You can create any number of backup sets to configure with a physical server. However, the Phoenix agent can simultaneously back up three backup sets.

You can add a backup set to the server from the Registered Servers screen of the Windows/Linux Servers page. You can add a backup set while configuring a registered server. For more information see Configuring backup settings.

View details of the backup sets attached to the server

  1. Log in to the Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and then select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux Servers
  4. In the left pane, click Registered Servers.
  5. In the right pane, click the server name whose backup set details you want to view. This brings up the server details page.
  6. In the server details page, the Configured Backup Sets section displays the details of all the backup sets attached to the server.

View backup sets attached to the backup policy

You can view the backup sets associated with a backup policy on the Manage Backup Policies page.

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. In the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux server.
  4. In the left pane, click Backup Policies. The right pane shows the list of all backup policies created for the Windows/Linux servers.
  5. In the right pane, under the Policy Name column, click the backup policy whose backup sets you want to view. This brings up the policy details page. 
  6. In the policy details page, click the Backup Sets tab. The Backup Sets tab displays the following details about the backup sets:
    1. Backup Set: The name of the backup set associated with the backup policy.
    2. Server Name: The name of the file server associated with the backup set.
    3. Backup Content: The content rule associated with the backup set.
    4. Administrative Group: The administrative group that the file server is associated with.

Backup sets in backup policy details.png

Edit a backup set 

You can change the name of the backup set, backup content, and backup policy applied to the backup set.

  1. Log in to the Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux Servers
  4. In the navigation pane on the left, click File Backup Sets.
  5.  In the right pane, click the backup set that needs to be edited, click more options, and then select Edit. The Edit Backup Set page opens.


    Edit a backup set.png
  6.  In the Edit Backup Set window, in the Backup Set Name field, change the name of the backup set if required.
  7. In the Backup Policy field, from the Backup Policy drop-down list, select the required backup policy to attach it to the server. For more information about how to create a new backup policy, see Add a new backup policy.
    Edit a backup policy.png
  8. In the Backup Content section, choose between one of the following options to select content for your File server
    • Use Content Rule:  Select the Use Content Rule option to use an existing, predefined content rule to back up files and folders on your File server. When you select an existing content rule, the Content Rule Details section displays the selected Backup Folders, Excluded Sub Folders, and the included/excluded File Types.
    • Specify Custom Content:  Select the Specify Custom Content option to define your custom content to back up files and folders on your File server. You can save the selected folders, subfolders, and included/excluded file types as a new content rule.
      For more information about the content rule and custom content, see Add a content rule.
  9. Click Save.

Disable and enable backup of backup set

You can disable or enable the backup of backup sets. After disabling, the backups from the File backup sets stop temporarily. The disabled backups resume after you enable the backup from this File backup set. 

Note: Phoenix retains the data from the File servers that you disable. 

Procedure

  1. Log in to the Phoenix Management Console.
  2. In the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux Servers
  3. In the left pane, click Registered Servers.
  4. In the right pane, under the Server Name column, click the server name whose backup you want to enable or disable. This brings up the server details page.
  5. In the Configure Backup Sets section, select the backup set whose backup you want to enable or disable.  Choose one of the following:
    1. Click more options and then select Enable Backup to enable the backup of the backup set.
    2. Click more options and then select Disable Backup to disable the backup of the backup set.
Note: The Enable Backup button is available only for the servers that are currently disabled. 
You can continue to restore servers that you have disabled.

Delete snapshots

If you are a cloud administrator, you can delete warm snapshots from File servers that you no longer require. If you are a group administrator, you can delete warm snapshots for File servers belonging to the administrative groups that you manage. After you delete a snapshot, Phoenix purges the snapshot data from the warm storage, thus freeing up space. Cloud administrators and data protection officers can delete cold snapshots. The cold snapshots also get deleted as per the retention period defined in the backup policy.

Note: You cannot delete the most-recent snapshot of the File server.

Procedure

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux Servers
  4. In the left pane, click Registered Servers.
  5. In the right pane, under the Server Name column, select the server whose snapshots you want to delete. This brings up the server details page.
  6. In the server details page, under the Configured Backup Sets section, click the backup sets whose snapshots you want to delete. This brings up the file backup set details page.
  7. In the backup set details page, click the Backups tab. The Backups tab displays all the snapshots for that backup set.
  8. Select the snapshot that you want to delete, and then click Delete

Delete Snapshot.png
 

Note:  If the backup set has just one snapshot, it cannot be deleted.

 

Delete a backup set

If you are a cloud administrator, you can delete a backup set attached to your configured server. When you delete a backup set, Phoenix deletes all the restore points corresponding to that backup set. However, Phoenix retains the jobs, reports, and alerts corresponding to the deleted backup set.

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Protect > Windows/Linux Servers
  4. In the left pane, click Registered Servers.
  5. In the right pane, under the Server Name column, click the server whose backup set you want to delete. This brings up the server details page.
  6. In the Configured Backup Sets section, under the Backup Set column,  click the backup set that you want to delete. This brings up the backup set details page. In the backup set details page, click More Options next to Restore, and select Delete. Phoenix removes the backup set associated with the server.