Skip to main content


 

 

How can we help you?

 

 
Druva Documentation

Configure auto-delete of inactive devices in a profile

Heads up!

We've transitioned to a new documentation portal to serve you better. Access the latest content by clicking here.

Configure inSync to automatically delete inactive devices after specified number of days.

Overview

You can configure inSync to automatically delete inactive devices after specified number of days. inSync performs an auto-delete check daily and deletes the devices which qualify for auto-delete. Once you configure auto-deletion, you can check the auto-delete date from the Inactive Devices report.

The setting observes the following restrictions:

  • The setting does not delete disabled devices, devices on legal hold, and devices assigned to preserved users.
  • Values from 30 to 1000 days can be configured. The default value is 180 days.
  • The day of deletion is counted from the day the device is marked inactive on inSync Server.
  • Snapshots of a device deleted through auto-delete cannot be restored.

Configure auto-delete inactive devices

You can configure this setting when you:

Configure auto-delete inactive devices while creating a new profile

  1. On the Endpoints Console, click Profile
  2. Click Create New Profile and enter details under General and Endpoints details. See Create a Profile section for detailed information about the fields on this page.
  3. Enter the details in the General section and click next to go to the Endpoints section.
  4. Under the User Settings tab, go to the Device Settings for Users area.
  5. Select the Auto delete inactive devices check box and enter the number of days after which an inactive device must get deleted. The field accepts values from 30 to 1000 days.
  6. Enter the remaining profile details and save the profile.

The auto-deletion of inactive devices is now configured and saved with the new profile. inSync counts the number of days the device is inactive and deletes the device when the count matches the number specified through this configuration. The settings will be applicable to all the user devices assigned with this new profile.

Configure auto-delete inactive devices while updating a profile

  1. On the Endpoints console, click Profiles
  2. Select the profile for which you want to configure auto deletion of inactive devices.
  3. Go to the Edit option at the top right, and click the Endpoints tab from the dropdown. The Edit Profile window appears.
  4. Under the User Settings tab, go to the Device Settings for Users section.
  5. Select the Auto delete inactive devices check box and enter the number of days after which an inactive device must get deleted. The field accepts values from 30 to 1000 days.
  6. Click Save.

The auto-deletion of inactive devices is now configured and updated in the profile. inSync counts the number of days the device is inactive and deletes the device when the count matches the number specified in this field. The settings will be applicable to all the user devices assigned with this updated profile. For detailed steps on updating a profile, see Update a profile.

Device delete pattern

After configuring inSync to auto-delete inactive devices, inSync begins deleting the devices that qualify for auto-delete. Each day, inSync calculates the total devices marked for deletion and deletes a maximum of 500 devices of the total count. The following rules apply during device deletion: 

  1. If the total number of devices marked for deletion for the day is greater than 500, then 500 devices are deleted. The remaining devices will be queued for auto-deletion on the next day.
  2. If the total number of devices marked for deletion for the day is less than or equal to 500, then all the marked devices are deleted.

Example: The examples in the following table can help you understand the above rules and exceptions.

Total devices to be marked for deletion for the day Devices actually deleted
7000 500
300 300

Therefore, inactive devices may continue to appear on the Inactive Devices Report even after their auto-delete date has lapsed. This may occur if a large number of devices are marked for deletion through the auto-delete configuration.

  • Was this article helpful?