Skip to main content


 

 

How can we help you?

 

 
Druva Documentation

Manually configure virtual machines

Heads up!

We've transitioned to a new documentation portal to serve you better. Access the latest content by clicking here.

Enterprise Workloads Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

You can configure virtual machines manually for backup using the console. As a part of manual configuration, you can select virtual machines for backup and assign a backup policy to them. The virtual machines are backed up based on the schedule configured in the backup policy.

Note:

Once a virtual machine is manually configured for backup, the virtual machine cannot be configured by an auto configuration rule. If the virtual machine is a part of any auto configuration rule due to tags, you must exclude it using the exclude rules, until the manual configuration is deleted from the virtual machine.

Perform the following steps to configure the virtual machine manually:

  1. Log in to the Management Console.

  2. On the console, from the top menu, select Organization.

  3. Select Protect > Azure Workloads > Virtual Machines.

  4. In the left navigation pane, select the Azure subscription for which you want to manually  configure virtual machines.

  5. On the virtual machines listing page, select virtual machine(s) and click Configure for backup.

    ManualConfig-selectVMs.png

  6. Select a backup policy and click Save.
    The configured virtual machine is displayed on the listings page with the configuration status as Configured.

Next steps

You can back up the configured virtual machine by clicking the Backup Now button on the virtual machines details page.
BackupNow.png

On-demand backup of virtual machines

Once you have configured the virtual machines for backup, you can backup your virtual machines manually on-demand from the Management Console by performing the following steps:

 

  1. Log in to the Management Console.

  2. On the console, from the top menu, select Organization.

  3. Select Protect > Azure Workloads > Virtual Machines.

  4. In the left navigation pane, on the virtual machines listing page, click on the virtual machine with Configured status.
    SelectVM4Backup.png

  5. On the Protected VMs page, click Backup Now.
    Note: If you are taking backups of your virtual machines for the first time, Druva performs a full backup of the virtual machines. Druva performs all subsequent backups as incremental backups.
    BackupNow.png

  6. Click continue on the confirmation dialog box to proceed with the backup.
    The backup for the selected virtual machine is triggered.

Next steps

You can check the status of the backup on the All Jobs page.

Manage configured virtual machines

You can view the details of the configured virtual machines by clicking the virtual machine name on the Virtual Machines listings page. The virtual machines details page has the following two tabs:

  • Summary: Displays information such as the VM name, whether the backup is disabled or enabled, tags, region, associated disks, and so on.

  • Recovery Points: Displays the latest created recovery points that can be used to restore the virtual machine.

You can perform the following actions on a configured virtual machine:

  • Restore

  • Enable/Disable backup

  • Reconfigure

  • Delete

VM details.png

See the following procedure to perform these actions.

Procedure

  1. From the Virtual Machines listing page, click the required virtual machine. 

  2. On the virtual machines details page, do the following:

    1. To restore the virtual machine, on the Recovery Points tab, select the required  recovery point and click Restore.

    2. To enable or disable the virtual machine, from the Kebab Kebab icon.png menu on the top right corner, click Enable or Disable respectively. 

    3. To reconfigure the virtual machine, from the Kebab Kebab icon.png menu on the top right corner, click Reconfigure.

    4. To delete the virtual machine, from the Kebab Kebab icon.png menu on the top right corner, click Delete.
      Deleting a virtual machine deletes its backup configuration and all recovery points.