Skip to main content

How can we help you?

Druva Documentation

Preserve Users

Overview

You can anytime preserve users, that you had earlier activated in Endpoints or SaaS Apps.

Considerations:

  • When you mark the user as preserved:

    • the state of the user is marked as preserved

    • preserve license of the respective workload will be consumed only if that workload is backed up. For more information about the preserve license, see preserve license consumption rationale.

  • By default, 10% of the active workload license is allocated as preserve workload license. For example, if 1000 active workload licenses are allocated, then 100 free preserve workload licenses will be allocated to the user. To purchase additional preserve licenses, you must either contact Support or delete already preserved users to accommodate other preserved users.

  • You will receive an email when you have reached 100% of your total preserve license count.

  • For a Business license edition customer of SaaS Apps, preserve license rationale is not applicable.  If you preserve a SaaS Apps business edition customer:

    • the preserve license will not be consumed.

    • an active license will continue to be consumed.

How to preserve users

You can preserve active users either from the top navigation menu bar or use Preserve a user API to automate the preservation of users. 

To preserve a user in Endpoints or SaaS Apps:

1. From the Endpoints or SaaS Apps top navigation menu bar, click Users.

image4.png

  1. Search and select the checkbox beside the active users that you want to preserve. Active users can be identified by the image1.png icon beside the user name.

To preserve multiple users, select the required checkboxes next to the users you want to preserve.

  1. Click the ellipsis button image3.jpg and click Preserve

  2. A confirmation window appears. Click Preserve.

  3. A License Change Summary window appears that displays all the license changes for the selected user. Click Done to close the window.

Preserve.png

The selected user(s) will be preserved and the user status is changed to Preserved. You can view the user status and the license state on the User details page.

After preserving the user:

  • The state of the user is marked as preserved, but preserve license of the respective workload will be consumed only if that workload is backed up. For more information about the preserve license, see preserve license consumption rationale.

  • All user devices are disabled, backups are stopped, and the user cannot backup data anymore.

  • Endpoints and SaaS Apps retain the user's backed up data as per the defined Backup Retention Policy and the user data that falls out of the defined retention period gets deleted automatically. Hence, if you want to preserve data for a user, you must put that user on Legal Hold.

  • If not activated again, the preserved user is later deleted after the duration specified in the Auto-Delete Preserved User settings of the user's profile.