Skip to main content

How can we help you?

Druva Documentation

Change the profile assigned to users

License editions: To understand the applicable license editions, see Plans & Pricing.

Introduction

All users are associated with a profile. Based on your organization's requirements, you can move users from one profile to another. However, moving users to another profile depends on the user privacy settings set at the profile level and the user level.

Consider the following scenarios:

  • Users associated to a profile where the user privacy settings are set as follows:
    • Allow admin access to user data - YES
    • Allow users to edit privacy settings- YES
    • Data Privacy (on inSync Client) - NO (User has disabled administrator to access and download the data).
  • Users associated to a profile where the user privacy settings are set as follows:
    • Allow admin access to user data - NO
    • Allow users to edit privacy settings- YES
    • Data Privacy (on inSync Client) - NO (User has disabled administrator to access and download the data).

In both the scenarios described above, the users have explicitly barred administrators to access or download their data. If such users are moved to a profile, where the administrators can have access to their data, the user's privacy setting is dishonored. Thus, inSync does not automatically allow moving of privacy concerned users to a profile, where the administrator can have access to their data.

If you have to mandatorily move the privacy concerned users to a profile where the administrators can have access to their data, you must contact such users and request them to allow administrators to access their backup data. For more information on how the users can allow administrators to access their backup data on inSync Client, see Control privacy of your backup data.

Procedure

To update the number of users for a profile

  1. On the inSync Management Console menu bar, click Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to update.
  3. Under the General tab, click Edit. The Edit Profile window appears.
  4. In the Max. number of users box, type the maximum number of users that you want to allow for this profile. If you do not want to set any restrictions, type 0 (zero).
  5. Click Save.

How does Allow Admin Access to User Data setting impact user profile change 

  • Was this article helpful?