Skip to main content

How can we help you?

Druva Documentation

True hot restore

Phoenix Editions: File:/cross.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

 

Overview

The true hot restore feature enables you to backup and store the hot snapshot of the server data on-premise with the help of CloudCache.
In the event of failure with CloudCache, you can use the Backup to Cloud if unable to backup to Cache option on the Configured page, to back up the data directly to cloud.

ConfigureCC_GeneralSettings.png

You can:

  • Select this option to back up the server data on Druva Cloud, if the Hybrid Workloads agent is unable to synchronize the backup data to the CloudCache during a given backup time frame either because the CloudCache server is not reachable, or it has run out of the disk space. This ensures that the server backups are always complete.
    However, when you select this option, it is likely that all the backed-up server data during a hot snapshot might not be present on CloudCache. Therefore, during restore, the data might have to be fetched from the Druva Cloud.
  • Deselect this option if your organization prefers to store the hot snapshot data locally on CloudCache. If the CloudCache is unavailable during the backup time frame of a server, the backup fails after performing a certain number of retries to connect to the CloudCache. For more information about disabling the option, see Configure CloudCache page.

Note: To enable this option, you must upgrade the Hybrid Workloads agents to version 4.3 or later and CloudCache to version 3.1 or later. After upgrading CloudCache, CloudCache backs up all deduplicated blocks in all subsequent backups.

After you upgrade CloudCache to a version that supports true hot restore, you need to reattach the backup set to CloudCache so that the latest backed up data is synchronized to the upgraded CloudCache. This will result in one time full backup where all data present in the backup set as well as Phoenix Cloud is synchronized to the CloudCache.

For more information about detaching a backup set, see Detach a backup set. For more information about attaching a new backup set, see Attach a new backup set.

Note: The data is resynced from the server to the CloudCache. However, if the data from the CloudCache is never synced to the cloud, then the triggered decommission job will process in the next schedule.