Skip to main content

How can we help you?

Druva Documentation

Manage Oracle backups

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

 

Enable and disable backup

By default, the backup on the Oracle database is enabled, when you configure the database for backup. You can disable the backup of the Oracle database at any time based on your requirement.

Druva Phoenix suspends backups after disabling backups on the Oracle databases. The disabled backups resume after you enable the backup from this Oracle database. 

Note: Druva Phoenix retains the data from the Oracle server databases that you disable.

Procedure

  1. Click the Configured Databases tab. 
  2. On the Configured Databases page, click the database for which you want to enable or disable the backup.
  3. On the Configured database details page, click the more More icon.png icon and click Enable Backup or Disable Backup depending on your requirement.
  4. Confirm your changes and the status is updated in the Backup Enabled column.

Manually back up a database

If you want to backup databases at a given point in time, you can trigger a full or an incremental backup manually on the database. After the backup is complete, the next backup happens as per the schedule defined in the backup policy.

Considerations

  • A manual backup is not restricted by the backup window that you defined in the backup policy; it continues till all the data is backed up.
  • If you restart or reboot your databases during backups, the backup operation is aborted. Phoenix agent starts a fresh backup following the backup schedule. Alternatively, you can start a manual backup at any time.
  • A manual backup is not restricted by bandwidth, it uses maximum bandwidth available.

Procedure

  1. Click the Configured Databases tab. 
  2. On the Configured Databases page, click the database that you want to back up.
  3. On the Configured database details page, perform the following:
    1. To perform a full backup, click Backup Now > Full Backup.
      BackupNowFull.PNG
    2. To perform an incremental backup, click Backup Now.
      BackupNowIncremental.PNG

Note: If your databases are getting backed up for the first time, the Backup Now will trigger a Full backup.

The backup of the selected database starts. You can track the progress and details about the backup job in progress on the Jobs details page. To access the Jobs details page, see View Jobs details page

Delete snapshot

If you are a cloud administrator, you can delete warm snapshots from Oracle databases that you no longer require. If you are a group administrator, you can delete warm snapshots for the Oracle databases belonging to the administrative groups that you manage. After you delete a snapshot, Druva Phoenix purges the snapshot data from the warm storage, thus freeing up space.

Note: You cannot delete the most recent snapshot of the Oracle database.

Procedure

  1. Click the Configured Databases tab. 
  2. On the Configured Databases page, click the database for which you want to delete the configuration.
  3. On the Configured database details page, click the Backups tab.
  4. Select the snapshot(s) that you want to delete and click Delete.

Note: If the Oracle database has just one snapshot, it cannot be deleted.

Reconfigure database

You can reconfigure a database for backup by changing the backup policy or administrative group associated with the database.

Procedure

  1. Click the Configured Databases tab. 
  2. On the Configured Databases page, click the database that you want to reconfigure for backup.
  3. On the Configured database details page, click the more More icon.png icon and click Reconfigure.
  4. On the Update Database page, assign the backup policy or the administrative group to the database based on your configuration requirement. 

Druva Phoenix applies backup settings of the selected backup policy to all the existing snapshots.

Delete configuration

You must delete the database configuration before deleting a database. Druva Phoenix deletes all snapshots of the database, and cancels any backup, restore, and other jobs running for the database.

Procedure

  1. Click the Configured Databases tab. 
  2. On the Configured Databases page, click the database for which you want to delete the configuration.
  3. On the Configured database details page, click the more More icon.png icon and click Delete Configuration.
  4. Click Yes on the confirmation message displayed.

Delete a database

If you are a cloud administrator, organization administrator, group administrator,  or a derived custom, organization, or group administrator, you can delete a database. When you delete a database, Druva Phoenix deletes all the restore points corresponding to that database. Druva Phoenix also deletes the ongoing backup or restore jobs for that database. However, Druva Phoenix retains the completed jobs, reports, and alerts corresponding to the deleted database.

If you are a cloud administrator, organization administrator, group administrator,  or a derived custom, organization, or group administrator, you can delete a database. A database can only be deleted after 7 days of the unconfiguring the database. When you delete a database, Druva Phoenix deletes all the restore points corresponding to that database. Druva Phoenix also deletes the ongoing backup or restore jobs for that database. However, Druva Phoenix retains the completed jobs, reports, and alerts corresponding to the deleted database.

Note: Ensure that you delete the database configuration before deleting the database. To delete the configuration, see Delete configuration

Deactivated backup sets

Druva Phoenix enables you to recover deleted backup sets of databases within 7 days of their deletion. When you delete a database configuration, the backup set associated with the database is deleted from the console. However, the backup set is retained for 7 days in a soft-delete state. This allows you to recover data within a 7-day window in case of accidental deletion or any malicious action. In the soft-delete state, you cannot delete resources associated with that deleted backup set from the Phoenix Management Console, such as the backup policy, database, and the Oracle server host. After 7 days of deletion, the backup set is permanently deleted and the associated restore points are also compacted from the storage.

Consider the following scenarios to recover backup set in the soft-delete state:

  • Recovered backup set’s database is not associated with any other active backup set
    Druva Phoenix preserves the state of the backup set before the soft deletion. If the database is not associated with any active backup set, then on successful recovery of the backup set, the recovered backup set of the database is marked active. It shall have the same resource configuration, such as backup policy, database, and the Oracle server host, as it had during its deletion. After recovery, the backups and retention continue as per the backup policy schedule.
  • Recovered backup set’s database is associated with an active backup set
    When you recover a soft-deleted backup set of the database, which is now attached to another active backup set. Druva Phoenix recovers the soft-deleted backup set and permanently marks it as Deactivated as shown in the following screenshot:
    OracleSBT_Deactivated_BackupSets_DB.PNG
    By default, the deactivated backup sets are disabled for backups and cannot be enabled for backups at any point of time. You can perform the following operations on the deactivated backup sets:
    • View backup set details
    • Trigger restore operations from the available restore points
    • Delete configuration
    • Change the administrator group
    If a deactivated backup set is deleted, the backup set will be permanently deleted and will not go into the soft-delete state. Compaction will be performed for all restore points.

Procedure

  1. Click the All Databases tab. The Databases page opens.
  2. In the Database Name column, select the database that you want to delete, and click the more More icon.png icon and click Delete.
  3. Click Yes on the confirmation message displayed.