Skip to main content

How can we help you?

Druva Documentation

Delete host or virtual machines

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

If you are a cloud administrator or a cloud-derived administrator with the right to delete the virtual machine, you can delete a virtual machine at any time. If you are a group administrator or a group-derived administrator with the right to delete the virtual machine, you can delete a virtual machine that belongs to the group that you manage. After you delete a virtual machine, Druva Phoenix purges the backup data of that virtual machine from the warm storage, freeing up space. 

You can delete a virtual machine in the following scenarios:

  • You configured virtual machines during evaluation, and you now want to reclaim the storage consumed.
  • You are planning to deprecate virtual machines, and you no longer need the data.
  • You are planning to replace virtual machines, and a backup of the replacement virtual machines may consume additional storage for the same data.
  • You no longer want to back up a virtual machine.

To delete virtual machines

  1. On the Phoenix Management Console menu bar, click All Organizations, and then select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  2. On the Phoenix Management Console menu bar, click Protect > Hyper-V
  3. Under Configured Virtual Machines tab, search and select the virtual machines you want to delete. 
  4. After you select the virtual machines, click Delete.
  5. Click Yes on the confirmation message

To delete Hyper-V host 

Druva Phoenix allows you to delete a host only after the 7 days of the deletion of the last configured virtual machine.

Procedure

  1. On the Phoenix Management Console menu bar, click All Organizations, and then select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  2. On the Phoenix Management Console menu bar, click Protect > Hyper-V
  3. Under the Hosts tab, search and select the host(s) you want to delete. 
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click Yes on the confirmation message
  • Was this article helpful?