If you are a cloud administrator, you can delete a virtual machine at any time. If you are a group administrator, you can delete a virtual machine that belongs to the group that you manage. After you delete a virtual machine, Phoenix purges the backup data of that virtual machine from the warm storage, freeing up space.
You can delete a virtual machine in the following scenarios:
- You configured virtual machines during evaluation, and you now want to reclaim the storage consumed.
- You are planning to deprecate virtual machines, and you no longer need the data.
- You are planning to replace virtual machines, and a backup of the replacement virtual machines may consume additional storage for the same data.
- You no longer want to back up a virtual machine.
To delete virtual machines:
- On the Phoenix Management Console menu bar, click All Organizations, and then select the required organization from the drop-down list.
- On the Phoenix Management Console menu bar, click VMs > Hyper-V.
- Under Configured Virtual Machines tab, search and select the virtual machines you want to delete.
- After you select the virtual machines, click Delete.