Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

True hot restore

Phoenix Editions: File:/cross.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

Overview

Phoenix provides an option Backup to Cloud if unable to backup to Cache to backup the server data to Phoenix Cloud in case Phoenix CloudCache is not available or not reachable. Selecting this option ensures that your server backups are always complete even if your configured Phoenix CloudCache is either unavailable or unreachable during the backup timeframe of a server group mapped to the CloudCache. The disadvantage of selecting this option is that all the backed up server data in the hot snapshot might not be present on the CloudCache, which means that backup data might not be truly Hot. So, during restore, the data might have to be fetched from the Phoenix Cloud.

If your organization preferred to have the Hot snapshot data stored locally on the CloudCache, you need to disable the Backup to Cloud if unable to backup to Cache option by removing the selection. This will enforce that backup data always stored on Phoenix CloudCache. If CloudCache is unavailable during the backup timeframe of a server, the backup fails after trying a certain number of retries to connect to the CloudCache. For more information about disabling the option, see Configure CloudCache page.

Note: To enable this option, you must upgrade the Phoenix agents to version 4.3 or later and Phoenix CloudCache to version 3.1 or later. After upgrading Phoenix CloudCache, all deduplicate blocks are backed up to CloudCache in all subsequent backups.

After you upgrade your CloudCache to a version that supports True Hot Restore, you need to detach the server group from Phoenix CloudCache and attach the server group again so that latest backed up data is synchronized to the upgraded CloudCache.

Detaching and again attaching the server group, results in a one-time full backup where all data present on the server group as well as Phoenix Cloud is synchronized to the Phoenix CloudCache. For more information about detaching a server group, see Detach a server group. For more information about attaching a new server group, see Attach a new server group.

Note: If the data is resynced from the server to the cloudcache. However, the data from the cloudcache is never synced to the cloud, then triggered decommission will process in the next schedule.