Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Manage your SQL server

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

Overview

If you want to attach SQL servers to new server groups, reconfigure the servers. When you assign servers to new server groups, the backup policies that the servers follow also changes. Server backups follow the schedule defined in the backup policy that is assigned to the newly changed server groups. 

Notes:

  • In scenarios such as deleting server groups where you must assign servers to other server groups, we recommend that you reconfigure the servers. 
  • You cannot change the storage at the time of reconfiguring a server. 
  • You cannot reconfigure a disabled server.

Reconfiguring a SQL Server and attaching it to an existing server group

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers
  4. Click the Configured tab.
  5. Click the server that you want to configure, and click Reconfigure for Backup
  6. On the Reconfigure Server for Backup wizard, under Assign a Server Group, select Attach to an existing server group. Select the name of the server group from the drop-down list, and then click Next
  7. Under Configuration Summary, verify the details and click Finish.

Reconfiguring a SQL Server and attaching it to a new server group

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. n the menu bar, click Servers
  4. Click the Configured tab. 
  5. Click the server that you want to configure, and click Reconfigure for Backup.
  6. On the Reconfigure Server for Backup wizard, under Assign a Server Group, select Attach to a new server group and click Next
  7. Under Create New Server Group, provide the following details. 

    Field

    Description

    Server Group Name

    The name of the server group that you want to create.

    Storage

    The storage that you want to associate with the server group.

    Note: You cannot change the storage later. 

    Backup Policy

    The type of backup policy that you want to associate with the server group.

    Depending up on workload, you can assign the following types of backup policies to your server:

    1. MS-SQL Server backup policy
      For more information on how to assign MS-SQL Server backup policy to the server, see MS-SQL Server backup policy.
    2. File Server and MS-SQL Server backup policies
      For more information on how to assign File Server and MS-SQL Server backup policies to the server running mix workload of File Server and MS-SQL Server, see File Server and MS-SQL Server backup policies.

    Note: If you attach a server to a server group, which does not have a policy type same as the previous server group, the restore points are deleted corresponding to the unmatched policy type. For example, if a server attached to a server group with File Server and MS-SQL Server backup policies, is reconfigured to a server group having only File Server backup policy, then the restore points corresponding to the MS-SQL Server backup policy type get deleted.

    Retention Policy

    The retention policy that you want to associate with the server group. For more information, see Add Retention Policy.

    Click Next.
  8. Under Configuration Summary, verify the details and click Finish.

Note: While reconfiguring a server, you cannot attach a server to a server group with incompatible agent version. For example, you cannot attach a server with agent version 1.x with a server group having MS-SQL Server policies. You cannot attach a server to a server group with unsupported operating system. For example, you cannot configure or reconfigure a Linux server to a server group having MS-SQL policies.

Delete a SQL Server

If you are a cloud administrator, you can delete a server at any time. If you are a group administrator, you can delete a server that belongs to the server group that you manage. After you delete a server, Phoenix purges the backup data of that server from the warm storage, thus freeing up space. 

You can delete a server in the following scenarios:

  • You configured servers during evaluation, and you now want to reclaim the storage consumed.
  • You are planning to deprecate servers, and you no longer need to keep data.
  • You are planning to replace servers, and a backup of the replacement servers might consume additional storage for the same data.
  • You no longer want to back up a server.

To delete you server from Phoenix

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.  
  4. In the Name column, click the server name that you want to delete.
  5. On the server details page, click More Actions > Delete.
Note: After deleting a server, the time required for purging data depends on the size of data that was backed up. For large-sized datasets, Phoenix might take longer to complete a purge operation.

Edit Server Name

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.  
  4. In the Name column, click the server name that you want to delete.
  5. On the server details page, click More Actions > Edit Server Name.

See also: