Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Restore files and folders

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

The following article provides information for restoring files and folders to an original or an alternate location:

About Restore settings

Phoenix provides the following  restore options:

Note: These  restore settings will be displayed only if you have upgraded the File server client to version 4.6.9 and later.

  • Always overwrite
    The files with the same name will always be overwritten at the destination regardless of the file version or date. By default, this option is always selected.

  • Always skip
    The files with the same name will not be restored to the destination. The number of files skipped will be displayed in the progress logs.

  • Overwrite if original is older
    The files with the same name will be overwritten only if they are older than the version being restored.

  • Restore and move original to .orig
    If the file being restored already exists at the destination, the version being restored will be saved with the same filename. While the existing file will be renamed to filename.ext.orig. On subsequent restores, the existing file versions at the destination will be appended with an incremental number such as filename.ext.orig1, filename.ext.orig2, and so on.

    Example: Assume that one of the files you are restoring from Phoenix is “foo.txt” which already exists at the destination. This scenario will explain the naming changes that foo.txt undergoes over several restore cycles.

    |View larger image|

    • First Restore Operation: The “foo.txt” file which already exists at destination will be renamed to “foo.txt.orig” while the file being restored will be saved as “foo.txt”.
    • Second Restore Operation: The existing “foo.txt” will be renamed to “foo.txt.orig1” while the file being restored will be saved as “foo.txt. You will now see three versions at the destination:
      • foo.txt - The latest version restored from Phoenix
      • foo.txt.orig1 - The version restored as part of the previous (first)  restore operation.
      • foo.txt.orig - The oldest version present on the destination server.
  • Preserve upward tree path
    You can preserve the entire source location, that is tree path while restoring a file to an alternate location.

    An example of upward tree path: If you are restoring folder “B” from the source location  E://A/B/C/D to  F:// drive.
    The restored file structure will be  F://E/A/B/C/D.

    Upward tree path will always be preserved in case you are restoring to the original location. The Downward folder structure is always preserved.  

Restore a File server to the original server 

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.
  4. Click the Configured tab.
  5. In the Name column, click the server name that you want to restore. 
  6. On the Server details page, click Restore.
  7. On Restore Data page, select one of  the following:
    • Hot snapshotsIn the left pane, expand Hot, and click the snapshot that you want to restore. 
    • Warm snapshots In the left pane, expand Warm, and click the snapshot that you want to restore. 
    • Thawed snapshots In the left pane, expand Thawed, and click the snapshot that you want to restore. 
  8. In the right pane, select files and folders, and click Restore.
  9. On the Restore to Server page, click Restore to original server and click one of the following options.
    • Original location: Select this option if you want to restore the selected files to the original location.
    • Custom location: Select this option if you want to restore the selected files to a custom location.  In the Specify custom location box, type or select the absolute path to the custom location.

  1. Click Next.

     

Note: The additional restore setting will be displayed only if you have upgraded the File server client to version 4.6.9 and later.

  1. Under Restore Settings, select one of the following options:
    • Always overwrite
    • Overwrite if original is older
    • Restore and move original to .orig
    • Always skip

For more information on the above options, see About Restore settings.

Note:  Upward tree path will always be preserved while restoring to original location.

  1. Click Finish.

Note: Symbolic links and mounted folders do not appear in the folder structure. If the server is not connected to Phoenix Cloud, Phoenix cannot fetch the folder structure data. To initiate a restore, you must type the absolute path to the restore destination. The restore operation fails if the server is not connected to Phoenix Cloud with PHOENIX17  error. 

Restore a File server to an alternate server

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.

  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.

  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.

  4. Click the Configured tab.

  5. In the Name column, click the server name that you want to restore. 

  6. On the Server details page, click Restore.

  7. On Restore Data page, select one of the following:

    • Hot snapshots: In the left pane, expand Hot, and click the snapshot that you want to restore. 

    • Warm snapshots:  In the left pane, expand Warm, and click the snapshot that you want to restore. 

    • Thawed snapshots:  In the left pane, expand Thawed, and click the snapshot that you want to restore.

Note: Symbolic links and mounted folders do not appear in the folder structure.

  1.  In the right pane, select files and folders, and click Restore.

Note: The snapshot timestamps are displayed according to the server time zone. For example, for servers located in New York and London, the time stamps are displayed according to EST and UTC time zones, respectively.

  1. Click Restore to a different server and provide the following details:

Field

Description

Specify server    
 
From the drop-down list, select the server to which you want to restore this data.
Specify location   Type or select the absolute path to the restore destination.
  1. Click Next.

Note: The additional restore setting will be displayed only if you have upgraded the File server client to version 4.6.9 and later.

Note: Servers running an earlier version of Phoenix agent, unconfigured servers, and servers belonging to a different platform do not appear in this list.
Servers that are not currently connected to Phoenix Cloud appear in the Specify server list, but Phoenix Cloud cannot fetch their folder structure data. To initiate restores to such servers, you must type the absolute path to the restore destination. The restore operation fails if the server is not connected to Phoenix Cloud  with PHOENIX17  error.

  1. Under Restore Settings, select one of the following options:

    • Always overwrite

    • Overwrite if original is older

    • Restore and move original to .orig

    • Always skip 

For more information on the above options, see About Restore settings.

  1. Select Preserve upward tree path option, if you want to restore the parent folders.  For more information, see Restore a File server to the original server.

Note: Upward tree path will always be preserved while restoring to original location.

  1. Click Finish.

Note: In the restore data window, if the selected folder contains a lot of items and the window encounters a time-out, you see

  • The highlighted message, and
  • The option to select a file or folder for restore