Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Manage content rules

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

This topic describes the following sections:

Overview

Content rules define the data to be backed up. You can create a custom rule and attach it to one or more servers. After you assign the servers to backup sets, data from these servers is backed up according to the content rule and backup policy defined in the backup set. 

Phoenix creates a default content rule for your setup. The default content rule is configured to back up all file types. You can assign the default content rule to one or more server. You can also update or delete this content rule.

Note: The Manage Content Rules page do not list the custom content.

Best practices to create content rule

  • Create a content rule when you have multiple backup sets on different servers, which need to backup the same content. 
  • Save the content rule based on its backup content. For example, you can save the content rule that backs up files at the C:/Docs and D:/ locations, as C_docs_D.
  • Do not apply overlapping backup content to different backup sets of the same server. This will unnecessarily back up the same content as a part of the different backup sets.

Add a content rule

You can create a content rule for a File server. You cannot configure a server with multiple backup sets having the same backup content.

Before you begin

Before adding a content rule for File servers, ensure you have read:

Procedure

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Manage > Content Rules.
    The Manage Content Rules page opens.
  4. Click Create New Content Rule
    The Create New Content Rule wizard opens.
  5. Under the Summary tab, provide the following information:
    • Name: The name for this content rule.
    • Type: The type of this content rule. Select Files.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Under the Backup Content tab, provide the following information:
    Field Description
    All folders Select this option if you want to backup all the folders.

    Specific folders

    Select this option to backup a specific folder. Click the Browse icon.png browse icon to browse the folder on your system or type the absolute path of the folder in the corresponding box, and click Add

    The folder path that you add appears in the box under the Add option. 

    To exclude any folder paths added for backup, click the delete icon next to the folder path in the box under Add

    Note: In case of the multi-server configuration, you cannot browse folder to select folder for backup.

    Exclude file types

    Select this option to exclude certain files from the backup.

    In the box below the option, select the file types that you want to exclude. 

    Note: If you selected Exclude file types, click More file extensions to exclude to provide the file extensions that you do not see in the default file type list. Type an extension preceded by an asterisk (*), for example, *.dotm. Separate consecutive entries using a comma.

    Example: Consider you have 100 files (Textdata1.txt to Textdata100.txt) stored on your system. To exclude all the files. click More file extensions to exclude and enter "Text*.txt ".

     Include file types

    Select this option to backup specific files.
    In the box below the option, select the file types that you want to include for backup. 

    Note: If you selected Include file types, click More file extensions to include to provide the file extensions that you do not see in the default file type list. Type an extension preceded by an asterisk (*), for example, *.dotm. Separate consecutive entries using a comma. 

    Exclude subfolders

    Use this option to exclude subfolders from backup. Type the relative or absolute path to the folder in the box under Exclude subfolders option, and then click Add.

    Note: If you are configuring Linux servers, exclude cgroups from backup. 

    To include the folders that are excluded from backup by default, click the delete  icon next to the folder name in the box under Exclude subfolders

  8. Click Create.

The created content rule now appears under the Manage Content Rules page.

View content rule

You can view the list of content rules created for the File server.

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Manage > Content Rules.
    The Manage Content Rules page displays the available content rules.
  4. Click the content rule to view its details. 
    The content rule details page provides the summary and server details of the content rule. For more information about the details, see Manage Content Rules details page.

Edit a content rule

When you edit a content rule, the updated configurations apply to all backup sets associated with that content rule. The updates are effective from the next backup of the corresponding backup sets. However, you can edit a custom content applied to a certain server, and the updated configurations apply only to the associated backup set. The updates are effective from the next backup of the backup set.

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Manage > Content Rules.
    The Manage Content Rules page opens.
  4. Click the content rule that you want to modify. 
    The content rule details page opens.
  5. Under the Summary tab, click Edit to modify the rule name.
    The Edit Content Rule dialog opens.
  6. Modify the content rule name and click Save.
  7. Click Edit in the Backup Content section to modify the folder details for backup.
    The Edit Backup Content page opens.
    Edit_Content_Rule.PNG
  8. Modify the required details. For more information about each field, see Backup Content.
  9. Click Save.

Delete a content rule

You can delete a File server content rule that you no longer need. You cannot delete a content rule mapped to one or more backup sets. 

Procedure

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console. 
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Manage > Content Rules.
    The Manage Content Rules page opens.
  4. Click the content rule that you want to delete. 
    The content rule details page opens.
  5. Under the Summary tab, click Delete to delete the rule name.
  • Was this article helpful?