Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Manage your server

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

Delete a server

If you are a cloud administrator, you can delete a server at any time. If you are a group administrator, you can delete a server that belongs to the server group that you manage. After you delete a server, Phoenix purges the backup data of that server from the warm storage, thus freeing up space. 

You can delete a server in the following scenarios:

  • You configured servers during evaluation, and you now want to reclaim the storage consumed.
  • You are planning to deprecate servers, and you no longer need to keep data.
  • You are planning to replace servers, and a backup of the replacement servers might consume additional storage for the same data.
  • You no longer want to back up a server.

Procedure

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.  
  4. In the Name column, click the server name that you want to delete.
  5. On the server details page, click More Actions > Delete.
Note: After deleting a server, the time required for purging data depends on the size of data that was backed up. For large-sized datasets, Phoenix might take longer to complete a purge operation.

Edit server name

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.  
  4. In the Name column, click the server name that you want to delete.
  5. On the server details page, click More Actions > Edit Server Name.

Determine Phoenix agent version

This topic describes how to determine the version of Phoenix agent that is currently running on your servers.

Each Phoenix release comes with new features and enhancements, and to use these features, you must have the latest version of Phoenix agent. You can obtain the version details of the Phoenix agent instances from the Phoenix Management Console.

Ensure that you have the latest version of Phoenix agent installed on your servers.

Procedure

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.
  4. Ensure that the Configured tab is selected.
  5. Locate the server for which you want to determine the agent version.
  6. View the Phoenix agent version details that appear in the Client Version column. 

View server details page

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers.
  4. Click the Configured tab and then click the server name.
    The Server details page is displayed.
     

Disable and enable backups

You can disable or enable the backup from a File server. After disabling, the backups from the File server stop temporarily. The disabled backups resume only after you enable the backup from this File server. 

Note: Phoenix retains the data from the File servers that you disable. 

Procedure

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers
  4. Click the Configured tab.
  5. In the Name column, click the File server name from which you want to disable or enable the backup.
  6. Disable or enable the backup:
  • To disable the backup, on the servers details page, click Disable Backup.
  • To enable the backup, on the servers details page, click Enable Backup.
Note: The Enable Backup button is available only for the servers that are currently disabled. 
You can continue to restore servers that you have disabled.

Delete snapshots

If you are a cloud administrator, you can delete warm snapshots from File servers that you no longer require. If you are a group administrator, you can delete warm snapshots for File servers belonging to the server groups that you manage. After you delete a snapshot, Phoenix purges the snapshot data from the warm storage, thus freeing up space. 

You cannot delete cold snapshots. However, the cold snapshots get deleted as per the retention policy.

Note: You cannot delete the most-recent snapshot of a File server.

Procedure

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click All Organizations, and select the required organization from the drop-down list.
  3. On the menu bar, click Servers
  4. Click the Configured tab,
  5. In the Name column, click the server name from which you want to delete a snapshot.
  6. On the server details page, click  Restore.
  7. In the left pane, expand the hot or warm node under Snapshots.
  8. Select the snapshots that you want to delete, and click Delete Snapshot.

Related articles