Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Restore virtual machine to an alternate location

Phoenix Editions: File:/tick.png Business File:/cross.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Elite

You can restore virtual machine to the original or new VCenter, by default, the original vCenter is selected. You can also restore the virtual machine to a new registered vCenter which has at least one backup proxy with version 3.1 or later.  

To restore virtual machine to an alternate location

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console.
  2. On the menu bar, click VMware.
  3. On the Manage VMware Setup window, select the vCenter/Hypervisior that you want to restore.
  4. Under the Configured Virtual Machines tab, select the virtual machine you want to restore.
  5. Click Restore and then select one of the snapshots from the list:
    • Hot snapshots: In the left pane, expand Hot, and click the snapshot that you want to restore. 
    • Warm snapshots: In the left pane, expand Warm, and click the snapshot that you want to restore. 
    • Thawed snapshots:  In the left pane, expand Thawed, and click the snapshot that you want to restore.
  6.  Click Full VM Restore.
  7. Select Alternate Location and enter the details for destination restore location.

     
    Field Description
    Destination VMware Setup From the dropdown list, select the VMware setup where you want to restore the virtual machine.
    Destination Hypervisor From the dropdown list, select the ESXi hypervisor where you want to restore this virtual machine.
    Destination Datastore From the dropdown list, select the data store where you want to restore this virtual machine. 
    Available space Describes the space available on the server for restore. 
    Ensure that the space available on the server is enough for the restore job.
    Backup Proxy Pool Lists the backup proxy pools available in the vCenter server.
    It is recommended that you select a backup proxy pool with backup proxies that are locally connected to the destination hypervisor for restore.
  8. Click Next.
  9. Review the restore details, and click Finish.