During original restore, the virtual machine will be restored at same data store and ESXi as it was present before the restore. The original virtual machine will be overwritten. If the target virtual machine has new VM disks attached which, were not present at the time of backup then they will be detached.
Note: Virtual machine restore to original location is a Guest Repair operation. This requires original virtual machine to be present during the restore operation.
Considerations for full virtual machine restore to original location
- If the virtual machine has new VMDKS attached at the time of restore and if they were not backed up then all those VMDKS will be detached from the virtual machine.
- If the virtual machine has independent disks attached then they will be detached after original restore.
- If the virtual machine has detached backed up disks, then they will be renamed as ‘<original_vmdk_name>_phoenix_ <timestamp>.vmdk’.
- If the old controllers are detached from target virtual machine , then after restore they will be attached again but if the target virtual machine has new controllers attached then will remain the same.
- If the type of the controllers is changed it will remain the same after restore.
- All the user snapshots will be deleted after original restore.
- For vRDM disks:
- For the backup proxy registered as VC, if vRDM detached at the time of restore then the thick disk with a new name as ‘<original_vmdk_name>_phoenix_ <timestamp>.vmdk’ will be created and vRDM disk will remain same.
- For backup proxy registered as standalone ESX, the detached vRDM disk will be renamed as ‘<original_vmdk_name>_phoenix_ <timestamp>.vmdk’ and new thick disk will be created instead of detached vRDM disk.
Note: Restore to original location for virtual machines that have vRDM disk is supported. If vRDM disks are not detached before the restore then they are restored as vRDM.
- If the virtual machine has added pRDM disks then it will not be detached after restore.
- The CBT state of the virtual machine will not change.
- All the other configurations of virtual machine, such as memory, CPUS, and CDROM device will not get restored to original state.
- The restore request to the original location is queued if there is an active backup running for the same agent on the same proxy.
- Log on to Phoenix Management Console, and select your organization from the drop-down list in the menu bar.
- On the menu bar, click VMs > VMware.
- On the VMware window, select the vCenter/Hypervisor that you want to restore.
- Under the Configured Virtual Machines tab, select the virtual machine you want to restore.
- Click Restore and then select one of the snapshots from the list:
- Hot snapshots: In the left pane, expand Hot, and click the snapshot that you want to restore.
- Warm snapshots: In the left pane, expand Warm, and click the snapshot that you want to restore.
- Thawed snapshots: In the left pane, expand Thawed, and click the snapshot that you want to restore.
- Click Full VM Restore.
- Select Original Location.
- Click Next.
- Review the restore details, and click Finish.
After you click Finish, the triggered restored request will be processed in one of the following manners:
- If target virtual machine has no Backup or Restore request running: The triggered restore request will be processed.
- If target virtual machine is processing a backup request: The following message is displayed on the screen.
- If you select Yes, the backup in progress will be canceled and the restore request will be triggered. On the Jobs page this backup job will be marked as canceled and an error PHOENIX247 will be displayed. For more information on the error, see Phoenix errors.
- If you select No, the triggered restore request will be canceled and you will be directed to the restore screen.
- If target virtual machine is already processing a restore request: As two restore requests cannot run in parallel on the same virtual machine, the following message will be displayed on the screen.
Note: If you change the virtual machine configuration such as name, memory, and vCPUs after backing up the virtual machine:
- Phoenix overwrites the updated configuration at the time of restore
- Phoenix restores the virtual machine with original configuration such as name, memory, and vCPUs at the time of backup