Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Automatically configure virtual machines for backup (vCenter only)

Overview

You can automatically configure virtual machines for backup by creating rules in the Phoenix Management Console. You can use the auto configuration feature if you have deployed backup proxy version 4.6.7 or later. 

When you create auto configuration rules, you:

  • Specify server group
  • Specify backup proxy pool
  • Exclude virtual machines from getting automatically configured

The server groups and backup proxy pool you specify are attached to the virtual machines that are configured using rules. The configuration rules that you create are applied to folders under the vCenter. Once the rule is created and applied to a folder, and you add a new virtual machines under this folder, the new virtual machine is automatically configured.

To view the automatic configuration, log on to Phoenix Management Console > select an organization > click VMware > select your setup. If you select a vCenter with latest backup proxy, you are taken to the vCenter page where you can see Auto Configuration tab for the setup.

Create an auto-configuration rule

To create a configuration rule for a vCenter setup:

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console and select an organization.
  2. In the navigation pane, click VMware
    All the registered VMware setups are listed by their IP addresses or domain names.
  3. Select a VMware setup from the list.
    Note: When you select a VMware setup, ensure that you select a vCenter setup. Automatic configuration is applicable for vCenter only. Standalone ESXi is not supported at the moment. 
    When you select a VMware setup, you are taken to the vCenter page. In the vCenter page, you can see the following tabs:
    • All Virtual Machines
    • Configured Virtual Machines
    • Backup proxy Pools 
    • Auto Configuration
  4. Click Auto Configuration.
  5. In the Auto Configuration tab, click Add Rule to create a new rule for the setup. 
    The Auto-Configuration wizard opens. The Auto-Configuration wizard contains three sections:
    • General Information
    • Mapping Details
    • Exclusion
  6. Provide a name and description for the rule in the General Information section. Ensure that you provide a unique name for each rule you create.
     After you provide a name and description, click Next
  7. In the Mapping Details section, Phoenix lets you:
    • Select a folder in your vCenter setup to which you apply your rule. 
    • Select a server group
    • Select a backup proxy pool
    Note: 
    • When a server group and backup proxy pool is attached to a virtual machine, it is configured for backup.The configuration rule automatically attaches the server group and backup proxy pool to the new virtual machine created in the vCenter folder you select. So the new virtual machine created under the selected folder is automatically configured for backup.

    • To display folder hierarchy of your VMware setup, Phoenix uses the VMs and Templates view. When you create a virtual machine, ensure that it is visible in the VMs and Templates view in vSphere. Phoenix does not support the Hosts and Clusters, Datastores, and Networking views to display the folder hierarchy when you create an auto configuration rule. 
    After you select a folder, server group, and backup proxy pool, click Next.
  8. In the Exclusions tab, you specify the virtual machines you want to exclude from getting backed up. You can:
    • Exclude the virtual machines that are already configured for backup. (Enabled by default)
    • Provide patterns to exclude virtual machines.
    • Exclude virtual machines that are powered off.
    • Exclude virtual machines that are suspended.
  9. Click Finish to save your settings and create the rule. 

After you create a rule, you can either:

  • Click Apply Rules to manually trigger application of the created rules and let the system configure eligible virtual machines, or
  • Wait for the periodic automatic configuration. Phoenix triggers auto configuration every 24 hours after Phoenix updates the virtual machines list, and you cannot modify this setting. Phoenix does not let you configure the interval or specify a particular time for the auto configuration job to run. 

When you create a rule, you can see it under Auto Configuration tab of the selected vCenter setup. Click Apply Rules to manually trigger application of the created rules and let the system configure eligible virtual machines. When you click Apply Rules, all rules are applied, and all eligible virtual machines for each rule are configured. You cannot select some of the rules and apply them. When rules are applied, the Apply Rules button is disabled until all the rules are applied and all eligible virtual machines are configured. Depending on the number of virtual machines eligible for configuration/reconfiguration, this operation may take some time. 

Update an existing rule

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console and select an organization.
  2. In the navigation pane, click VMware
    All the registered VMware setups are listed by their IP addresses or their domain names.
  3. Select a VMware setup from the list.
    Note: When you select a VMware setup, ensure that you select a vCenter setup. Automatic configuration is applicable for vCenter only. Standalone ESXi is not supported at the moment. 
    When you select a VMware setup, you are taken to the vCenter page. In the vCenter page, you can see the following tabs:
    • All Virtual Machines
    • Configured Virtual Machines
    • Backup proxy Pools 
    • Auto Configuration
  4. Click Auto Configuration.
  5. In the Auto Configuration tab, click the rule name of the rule you want to edit.
    You are taken to the rule page.
  6. In the rule page, click Edit Details. Edit Auto Configuration dialog pops up. You can change the name and description of the rule in this dialog. Ensure that you use a unique name for each rule and click Save
  7. You are taken to the rule page where you can see the Mapping Details, Exclusions, and configured virtual machines. Click Edit in the Mapping Details section to select a new folder in the vCenter, select a different server group, and a different backup proxy pool. 
    Click Save. Your auto configuration rule is updated and you are taken to the rule page.
  8.  Click Edit in the Exclusions section to specify the virtual machines you want to exclude from getting backed up. You can:
    • Exclude the virtual machines that are already configured for backup. (Enabled by default)
    • Provide patterns to exclude virtual machines.
    • Exclude virtual machines that are powered off.
    • Exclude virtual machines that are suspended.
    Click Save. Your auto configuration rule is updated and you are taken to the rule page.

Delete an existing rule

You can delete a rule from the rules list itself, or by selecting the rule. 

To delete an existing rule by selecting it:

  1. Log on to Phoenix Management Console and select an organization.
  2. In the navigation pane, click VMware
    All the registered VMware setups are listed by their IP addresses.
  3. Select the VMWare setup from the list for which you created an auto configuration rule.
    When you select the VMWare setup, you are taken to the vCenter page. In the vCenter page, you can see the following tabs:
    • All Virtual Machines
    • Configured Virtual Machines
    • Backup proxy Pools 
    • Auto Configuration
  4. Click Auto Configuration.
  5. In the Auto Configuration tab, click the rule name of the rule you want to delete.
    You are taken to the rule page.
  6. In the rule page, click Delete and select Yes from the confirmation dialog. 

In addition to the steps above, you can delete a rule from the rules list itself. When you select an organization and navigate to VMware, select your setup under which you configured your rules. In the Auto Configuration tab, select your rule(s) and click Delete.

 

Invalid rules

  • If a backup proxy pool is deleted, and an auto-configuration rule uses it, the rule becomes invalid.
  • If a server group is deleted, and an auto-configuration rule uses it, the rule becomes invalid.
  • If you rename or delete a folder in vCenter on which you applied a rule, the rule becomes invalid.

 

You can see the red icon in the rule page also.

Disabled rules

In the Auto Configuration tab, if you see rules that you cannot select or edit, then the rule uses a server group that you cannot access.

Related articles