This article applies to:
- OS: Windows, Mac
- Product edition: inSync Cloud, On-Premise
This article describes the impact on inSync Share when the inSync Administrator changes the storage assigned to the inSync Client user.
inSync does not allow an administrator to change the storage assigned to an inSync Client for which inSync Share is activated. The administrator must move the user to a different profile backing up to a different storage and enable inSync Share in the profile.
inSync Administrator must be able to change the storage of an inSync user with frequent and active use of inSync Share when the user is transferred to a different location (such as AWS Region) within the same organization.
Impact on inSync Share
All the share data for the migrated user resides on the old storage. This does not affect the workspaces and data shared by other users with the migrated user. However, the shared and un-shared data of the migrated user is not present on the new storage.
Major implications would be as below:
- The inSync share data for the migrated user will continue to reside on the old storage.
- The user may see the old inSync Share data on the local machine. However, the old data will not appear on the inSync Web Console of the user.
- On the inSync User web, the user may be able to see the data that is shared with him/her and/or the Workspace data.
- After the migration, the new data added to to the inSync Share folder is synced to the new storage.
- The Shared folder owned by the user will still be visible but will have no file/folder listing.
- Share link created by the user for the data on old storage will no longer be functional.
- The data present in local inSync Share folder will not be synced to the cloud unless the device is reactivated. A reactivation is needed as this allows the local inSync Share database to rescan the files/folders and create required notifications.