Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

User, Device, and IMD FAQs

Answers

Will I be logged out of inSync Admin Console because of inactivity?

Yes. inSync Admin Console logs you out if you are inactive for 30 minutes.

When is user data encrypted?

inSync encrypts user data at the following stages:

  • inSync encrypts data in the backup folders if administrators have enabled encryption for the profile in use. For more information on how you can enable encryption for backup folders, see Enable data encryption.
  • inSync encrypts data in transit with 256-bit SSL encryption.
  • inSync secures data on storage nodes with 256-bit AES encryption.

How are inSync users authenticated?

inSync users are authenticated in the following two ways:

  • They can use the password assigned to them by inSync.
  • They can use their Active Directory user ID and password.

Is there an expiration date for the mass deployment token?

Yes. There is an expiration date for the mass deployment token. This date is not automatically set by the inSync Master. You must set this date while generating the mass deployment token. To know how to set an expiry date, see Generating a mass deployment token.

I have disabled certain devices. Can backed up or shared data be accessed through them?

No. The users cannot access their backed up or shared data if their devices have been disabled.

I have disabled some inSync users. Can they access their backup or share data?

No. The disabled users cannot access their restore points or share data. Only inSync administrator can access backed up and shared data of the disabled users.

Are unsuccessful login attempts logged?

No. inSync does not log unsuccessful login attempts.

Two users log on to the same laptop. Can one user access the inSync data of the other?

No. No user can access backed up data of another user. The backed up data can only be accessed by the owner of that data or by the inSync administrator. 

Can I hide the inSync client shortcut during integrated mass deployment?

Yes. You can use the HEADLESS parameter in the following command to hide the inSync client short cut during integrated mass deployment:


msiexec /qn /i <path to inSync msi> TOKENV2='<mass deployment token>' SERVERLIST="<IP address of inSync Server>:<Backup/sync port>" WPAD_URL="<URL of PAC file>" PROXY_TYPE="<type of proxy used>" PROXY_SERVER="<IP address of proxy server>:<port number>" SYSTEM_PROXY="1" HEADLESS=1

What are the different ways in which I can add users to my inSync setup?

There are three different ways in which you can add users to your inSync setup:

Multiple users have their accounts on the same laptop. Should each user install separate inSync Client on the same laptop?

No. If multiple uConditional text (pro member only)sers are using the same laptop, they do not have to install separate inSync Clients.

Multiple users have their accounts on the same laptop. Can one user access the inSync data of the other?

No. No user can access backup data of another user. However, the inSync administrator can access the backup data depending on the data privacy policy set for the user.

Multiple users have their accounts on the same laptop. Can the inSync Client backup data for all users of that laptop?

No. A single inSync Client cannot backup data for all users of that laptop. As administrators, if you install the inSync Client on a user laptop by using the integrated mass deployment (IMD) scripts, the inSync Master activates the inSync Client after the user validation is successful for the logged in user. On the other hand, if you install the inSync Client on a user laptop, any user who is logged on to the laptop must activate the inSync Client using their credentials. The inSync Client backs up data based on the profile configuration for the logged in users.

For example, consider a scenario where multiple users work in shifts, and share the same laptop. In such case:

  • Only one installation of inSync Client is required, which can support multiple inSync users. Users are not required to install inSync Client separately on the same laptop.
  • inSync license is a user-based license. This means that multiple users must activate and access inSync Client on the same laptop by using individual licenses.
  • inSync Client backs up data and encrypts data based on the profile that is configured for the logged-in user. This means that no user can access backup data or encrypted data of another user. However, the inSync administrator can access the backup data depending on the data privacy policy set for the user.

 When a user or device is disabled, will inSync Delete the user or device automatically?

  • Device is disabled when an administrator disables a user or manually disables a device from inSync Management Console.
  • Device does not get deleted automatically unless inSync administrator deletes the user account or manually deletes the device. 

Considerations:

The snapshot for the user will still be compacted and the user may end up with only the latest available snapshot. If the user’s data needs to be preserved, consider placing the user on Legal hold or moving the user to a profile which has a retention policy configured to never delete a snapshot. 

For more information, see Auto Delete Preserved users and Preserve users sections.

What does the Device Usage (%Quota) column indicate on the summary page for Manage Users?

The column displays the sum of the latest snapshot data from all the devices, CloudApps, and inSync Share. The CloudApps and inSync Share data is added provide they are configured on the device.

What is the Total backup data displayed under Usage Details (Manage Users > User > Usage Statistics tab)?

Total backup data shows the size of data that is the sum of all the data size of snapshots of all the devices for a particular user.

What is the difference between Backup data and Total backup data  displayed under Backup Summary section of the Summary tab (Data Sources > Devices > Device Name > Summary tab)?

Backup data is the size of the last snapshot for that particular device, and total backup data is the sum of all the snapshots that reside on the storage.