Skip to main content


 

 

How can we help you?

 

Druva Documentation

Enable Data Lock

Heads up!

We've transitioned to a new documentation portal to serve you better. Access the latest content by clicking here.

License editions: To understand the applicable license editions, see Plans & Pricing.

 The Data Lock feature is available to Enterprise and Elite editions. Only Druva Cloud Administrators can enable this feature.

 

The Data Lock feature can be enabled at the profile level. You can enable Data Lock either when creating a new profile or editing an existing profile. 

What happens when you enable Data Lock?

When you enable the Data Lock feature:

  • All existing and new users who are assigned the data lock enabled profile will be enabled with a data lock.

  • This feature will be applicable to historical and future snapshots.

  • This feature will be applicable even after the license has expired.

  • Once you apply Data Lock to the profile, you cannot:

  • Delete the snapshots, users, and devices associated with the profile.

  • Edit the retention period. 

  • Change profile of users.

  • Remove the license of the user.

  • Downgrade from the Enterprise and Elite editions to the Business edition for customers.

  • Disable the Data Lock setting.

The following  .gif walks you through how to enable the data lock feature and what happens after enabling this feature.

datalock_endpoints_July11.gif

Considerations

  • If users and devices who are assigned the Data Lock enabled profile are in the Rollback Actions, you cannot mark them as immutable until they are rolled back.

  • The Data Lock feature overrides the settings for Auto delete Preserved users and Auto delete inactive devices.

  • If data lock feature is enabled, you cannot change the retention period, but you can change other settings such as backup frequency.

  • Data Lock does not apply to curated or golden snapshots as they are created using the existing snapshot.

  • Data Lock-enabled snapshots can be marked as quarantine snapshots.

You can enable the Data Lock feature either when creating a new profile or editing the existing profile.

Enable Data Lock when creating a new profile

  1. On the Endpoints  Console, click Profiles->Create New Profile. For information on how to create a profile, click here.

  2. While creating a profile,  to enable the Data Lock for Endpoints:
    In the Endpoints->Schedule & Retention: Data Lock section, select the Data Lock checkbox.

image2.png

  1. On the confirmation window, click Yes. The data lock setting will be applicable after saving the profile. 

      Once the profile is enabled with the data lock feature:

  • On the Manage Profiles page, you will see the image3.pngicon next to the profile. When you hover over the icon, a message will appear stating Data Lock is enabled for Endpoints.

image4.png

  • On the Manage Profile details page,  in the Endpoints->Schedule & Retention section, Data Lock status will be displayed as Enabled.

Enable Data Lock while editing an existing profile

You can also enable the Data Lock feature while editing the existing profile. See Update a profile for details.

  • Was this article helpful?