Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Configure auto-delete of inactive devices in a profile

Overview

You can configure inSync to automatically delete inactive devices after specified number of days. inSync performs an auto-delete check daily and deletes the devices which qualify for auto-delete. Once you configure auto-deletion, you can check the auto-delete date from the Inactive Devices report.

The setting observes the following restrictions:

  • The setting does not delete disabled devices, devices on legal hold, and devices assigned to preserved users.
  • Values from 90 to 1000 days can be configured. The default value is 180 days.
  • The day of deletion is counted from the day the device is marked inactive on inSync Master.
  • Snapshots of a device deleted through auto-delete cannot be restored.

Configure auto-delete inactive devices

You can configure this setting when you:

Configure auto-delete inactive devices while creating a new profile

  1. Log on to inSync Management Console and click the Profiles menu. The Manage Profiles page opens.
  2. Click Create New Profile and enter details under Summary and User Privacy & Access details on the General tab. See Create a profile section for detailed information about the fields on this page.
  3. Click Next and then click Enable Device Backup.
  4. Click User Settings on the Devices tab.
  5. Under Device Settings for Users > Manage Inactive Devices:
    1. Select Auto delete inactive devices. The Delete inactive devices after field appears.
    2. Enter the number of days after which an inactive device must get deleted. The field accepts values from 90 to 1000 days.
  6. Enter the remaining profile details and save the profile.

The auto-deletion of inactive devices is now configured and saved with the new profile. inSync counts the number of days the device is inactive and deletes the device when the count matches the number specified through this configuration. The settings will be applicable to all the user devices assigned with this new profile.

Configure auto-delete inactive devices while updating a profile

  1. Log on to inSync Management Console and click the Profiles menu. The Manage Profiles page opens.
  2. Click the profile to edit and open the Devices tab.
  3. Click User Settings and then click Edit.
  4. Under Device Settings for Users > Manage Inactive Devices:
    1. Select Auto delete inactive devices. The Delete inactive devices after field appears.
    2. Enter the number of days after which an inactive device must get deleted. The field accepts values from 90 to 1000 days. 

The auto-deletion of inactive devices is now configured and updated in the profile. inSync counts the number of days the device is inactive and deletes the device when the count matches the number specified in this field. The settings will be applicable to all the user devices assigned with this updated profile. For detailed steps on updating a profile, see Update a profile.

Device delete pattern

After configuring inSync to auto-delete inactive devices, inSync begins deleting the devices that qualify for auto-delete. Each day, inSync calculates the total devices marked for deletion and deletes 10% devices of the total count. The following rules and exceptions apply during device deletion: 

  1. If 10% of total number of devices marked for deletion for the day is greater than 500, then 500 devices are deleted.
  2. If 10% of total number of devices marked for deletion for the day is less than or equal to 500, then 10% devices are deleted.
  3. If 10% of total number of devices marked for deletion for the day is less than or equal to 10, then 10 devices are deleted.
  4. If the total number of devices marked for deletion are less than or equal to 10, then all the devices are deleted. 

Example: The examples in the following table can help you understand the above rules and exceptions.

Total devices to marked for deletion for the day 10% of the total device count Devices actually deleted
7000 700 500
4500 450 450
15 2 (rounded) 10
8 1 (rounded) 8

Therefore, inactive devices may continue to appear on the Inactive Devices Report even after their auto-delete date has lapsed. This may occur if large number of devices are marked for deletion through the auto-delete configuration.

  • Was this article helpful?