Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Automatically Decommission a Device

inSync Private Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite File:/tick.png Enterprise

Enable auto-delete functionality

You can enable auto-delete of data from a laptop or desktop that has not connected to the inSync Master for a specified number of days.

When you enable the auto-delete feature, you can configure:

  • The number of days after which alert will be sent to administrators if a laptop or desktop does not connect to inSync Master.
  • The number of days after which laptop or desktop data will be deleted if the laptop or desktop does not connect to inSync Master.

Notes:

  • This feature is controlled through profiles and not at an individual user level.
  • The user does not need to get connected or to log on to inSync Client for this feature to work.
  • This feature is not available for mobile devices.

To enable auto-delete functionality

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Profiles.
  2. Click the link of the profile for which you want to enable auto-delete for laptop or desktops.
  3. Click the DLP tab.
  4. In the DLP for Laptops & Desktops area, click Edit. The Edit Profile window appears.
  5. Select the Auto delete check box. Additional fields appear.
  6. Provide the appropriate information for each field.
    • In the Auto delete folders if device does not connect for box, type the number of days which when the user's laptop or desktop does not connect with the inSync Master, inSync will automatically delete data from the backup folders on the laptop or desktop.
    • In the Alert if device does not connect for box, type the number of days which when the user's laptop or desktop does not connect with the inSync Master, inSync sends an alert to the inSync Server Administrators.
  7. Click Save.

Place Auto-delete On Hold for a Device

You can place auto-delete on hold for a device. This means that even if the device does not connect to the inSync Master for the configured number of days, inSync does not automatically delete the data from the user device while the auto-delete functionality is on hold.

To place auto-delete on hold for a device

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Under the All Devices tab, click the radio button for the appropriate device.
  3. Click Mark On Hold.

Remove the Auto-delete Hold Status for a Device

After you place auto-delete on hold for a device, you can remove the auto-delete hold status for a device. This means that the auto-delete feature is now applicable for the device. If the device does not connect to the inSync Master for the configured number of days, inSync automatically deletes the data from that device.

To remove the auto-delete hold status for a device

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Under the All Devices tab, click the radio button for the appropriate device.
  3. Click Mark Normal.
  • Was this article helpful?