Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Decommission Workflow

inSync Private Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite File:/tick.png Enterprise

Decommission Workflow for Laptops

Laptops on Windows OS

  • The decommission process is started for the Windows laptop. The DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioning and the Device Status changes to Disabled.
  • The inSync client starts to erase all files that were configured for backup up from the device.
  • inSync overwrites the free space of that partition by creating an SErase file and increasing the size of SErase until it gets a No free space error. By doing this, inSync is able to clean up the free space of the drive.
  • inSync then creates SMFT (Secure Master File Table) 0 byte files to clean the MFT table so that no one can see the name of the files that were there on the system.
  • inSync then deletes the SErase file (the file used to fill up the free space).
  • After the decommission process is complete, the DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioned.

Laptops on Mac OS

  • The decommission process is started for the Mac laptop. The DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioning and the Device Status changes to Disabled.
  • The inSync client starts to erase all files that were configured for backup up from the device.
  • inSync uses the built-in OS tool, SRM, to perform secure deletion of the data on the device. This ensures that each file is overwritten, renamed, and truncated before it is unlinked. This prevents other people recovering any information about the file from the command line.
  • After the decommission process is complete, the DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioned.

Note: Decommissioning is not supported for laptops that are on Linux OS.

Decommission Workflow for Mobile Devices

Android Devices

  • The decommission process is started for the mobile device. The DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioning and the Device Status changes to Disabled.
  • The inSync Cloud Master sends a push notification to the inSync app via the Google Cloud Messaging server.
  • The Android inSync application receives the push notification and starts deleting data according to the decommission type that the Administrator selected.

If the Administrator selected the Delete only inSync data on device option while decommissioning the device:

  • inSync deletes recent documents, favorites, or inSync cache files from the inSync mobile app.
  • The user is logged out from the inSync mobile app.

If the Administrator selected the Deactivate entire device option while decommissioning the device:

  • The user device is restarted.
  • inSync erases all data on the mobile device. All non-inSync data and the SD card are also wiped out.
  • After the decommission process is complete, the DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioned.

iOS Devices

  • The decommission process is started for the mobile device. The DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioning and the Device Status changes to Disabled.
  • The inSync Cloud Master sends a push notification to the iOS device via the Apple server.
  • The iOS device receives the push notification and starts deleting data according to the decommission type that the Administrator selected.

If the Administrator selected the Delete only inSync data on device option while decommissioning the device:

  • inSync deletes recent documents, favorites, or inSync cache files from the inSync mobile app.
  • The user is logged out from the inSync mobile app.

If the Administrator selected the Deactivate entire device option while decommissioning the device:

  • The user device is restarted.
  • inSync erases all data from the mobile device. All non-inSync data are also wiped out.
  • After the decommission process is complete, the DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioned.

Windows Phone 8 Devices

  • The decommission process is started for the mobile device. The DLP status for the device changes to Decommissioning and the Device Status changes to Disabled.
  • When the Windows Phone 8 device connects with inSync Master, the recently accessed documents or favorites from the inSync cache files are deleted.

Note: Only the Delete only inSync data on device option is available for Windows Phone 8.

For more information, see Manually Decommission a Mobile Device.

  • The user is logged out from the inSync mobile app.

Frequently-asked questions

  • Was this article helpful?