Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Synchronize inSync users with your Active Directory

inSync Private Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite File:/tick.png Enterprise

Overview

When you synchronize inSync users with your Active Directory (AD), inSync queries your AD for user details and disables any inSync user who has been removed from your AD.

There are two ways in which you can synchronize inSync users with your AD:

  • Automatic Sync: In this process, inSync automatically queries your AD at regular intervals. You can configure the frequency at which inSync must query your AD. 
  • Manual Sync: In this process, you will have to manually start the synchronization process.

Note:

  • You can only synchronize users whom you imported using your AD. You cannot synchronize users whom you added individually or through a CSV file.
  • inSync automatically disable users who are disabled in AD. However, if you enable users that you disabled in AD, inSync does not automatically enable them in inSync. You have to enable users manually in inSync. For more information on how you can enable users on inSync, see Disable, enable, and delete users.
  • When you synchronize inSync with your Active Directory (AD), inSync queries your AD for user details and disables any inSync user who has been removed from your AD. However, if any user is disabled in your AD, inSync disables that user only if the MANAGE_AD_DISABLED_USERS parameter is set to True in the inSyncServer.cfg file. By default, the MANAGE_AD_DISABLED_USERS parameter is set to True. Druva does not recommend updating the inSyncServer.cfg file on your own. If you want to update this parameter, contact Druva Support.

Auto-sync users with the Active Directory

To enable automatic synchronization of inSync user details with your active directory when creating an AD mapping, see Create an Active Directory mapping. inSync automatically queries AD at regular intervals for user details and deactivates any inSync user that is removed from AD.

To update an existing AD mapping and enable the auto-sync feature: 

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Manage > AD Mappings.
  2. Select the AD mapping for which you want to enable the auto-sync feature.
  3. In the inSync Configuration area, click Edit.
  4. Select the Auto disable unmapped users check box.
  5. Click Ok.

Manually sync users with your Active Directory

You can manually disable users which no longer map to an AD mapping.

To disable users

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Manage > AD Mappings.
  2. Click the AD mapping for which you want to disable the unmapped users.
  3. Click More > Disable Unmapped Users. A dialog box appears on the screen to confirm your action to disable unmapped users in the selected AD group.
  4. Click Yes to confirm your action. All inSync users that are unmapped from the selected AD mapping are disabled.
  • Was this article helpful?