Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Change storage pool assigned to a user

inSync Private Cloud Editions: File:/tick.png Elite File:/tick.png Enterprise

Overview

While you create a user, you can map the user to a storage pool. Data from that user's devices is backed up to one of the storage in the storage pool. You can change the storage pool for a user at any time. After you change a user's storage pool:

  • User data is backed up to the preferred storage, or one of the storage, in the new storage pool.
  • Snapshots on the old storage are retained and compacted, following the retention policy.
  • The  user can restore data from any snapshot, even those available on the old storage.
Note:
  • You can change storage pool assigned to a user only if inSync Share is deactivated for the user. 
  • You cannot map users to a storage pool to which they were assigned earlier.

Before you begin

Before you change the storage pool assigned to a user, ensure that your users have inSync 5.2 or later or inSync mobile App 3.3 or later installed on their devices.

Procedure

To change the storage pool assigned to users

  1. On the inSync Master Management Console menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the users for whom you want to change the storage.
  3. Click More > Change Storage.  
  4. In the Select Storage list, click the new storage pool.
  5. If you want to assign a preferred storage from the pool, click the preferred storage.
  6. Click Save.
Note: After changing the storage assigned to a user, inSync performs a full backup for the first backup. Thereafter, inSync performs incremental backups.
  • Was this article helpful?