Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

About device decommissioning

inSync On-premise 5.4 Administrator Guide
On-premise Editions: File:/tick.png Private Cloud File:/tick.png Enterprise File:/tick.png Professional

Overview

Decommissioning a laptop allows you to securely wipe out data from all folders that inSync protects, which includes backup folders and inSync Share data. This is helpful in scenarios where devices are stolen or lost and you want to wipe out critical data from a device.

The following table lists the decommissioning scenarios and the notes for each scenario.

Scenario Description
Manual Decommission

The inSync Cloud Administrator manually decommissions a device by using the inSync Cloud Admin Console. For more information, see Manually Decommission a Device.

Note: If you are manually decommissioning a device, decommissioning can take place only if the inSync Master and the device can communicate with each other.

Auto-delete

This method deletes data automatically from the user device if the device does not connect to inSync Master for a period that the inSync Cloud Administrator has configured. This functionality is applicable only for user laptops and not for mobile devices. For more information, see Automatically Decommission a Device.

Note: The decommissioning process starts and the data is deleted from the device even when the device and the inSync Master cannot communicate with each other.

After starting the decommissioning process for a device, you can Activate or Reactivate a Laptop.

Note: Decommissioning is not supported for laptops that are on Linux OS.

Decommission Mobile Devices

When you decommission a mobile device, you can choose to delete only inSync-related data on the device or wipe out all data from the device. For more information, see Manually Decommission a Mobile Device.
After starting the decommissioning process for a device, you can Activate a Mobile Device.

  • Was this article helpful?