Skip to main content
Druva Documentation

inSync Client changes for macOS Mojave (version 10.14)

This topic describes the changes for inSync Client v6.1.1 that are introduced to support the new user data protection feature introduced in macOS Mojave (version 10.14) and the related actions for inSync Client users.

Druva recommends that you upgrade the inSync Client to v6.1.1 before upgrading your device to macOS Mojave. 

Locations that display a prompt

The operating system will display an authorization prompt when inSync Client tries to access the following locations if configured for backup:

  • Location services
  • Contacts
  • Calendars
  • Reminders
  • Photos

What action should inSync Client users take?

inSync Client users must click OK to allow inSync to access the locations and back up the data. inSync displays a prompt for each location that it tries to access. 

If inSync Client users do not take any action on the prompts, inSync will pause the ongoing backup and it will remain in that state until the user takes an action.

What will happen if inSync Client users click Don't Allow on the permission prompt?

inSync Client will skip the location during data backup and continue backing up other data.

Locations that do not display a prompt

inSync Client will skip the following configured locations by default while performing the backup if it does not have the required access permissions:

  • Mail
  • Messages
  • Safari Browsing History
  • HTTP Cookies
  • Call History
  • iTunes Backups
  • Time Machine Backups

What action should inSync Client users take?

inSync Client users must allow inSync to access the locations by completing the following steps:

  1. Go to System Preferences > Security and Privacy pane.
  2. Click the Privacy tab.
  3. Click Full Disk Access on the left pane.
  4. Click the + button.
  5. Click Application on the left pane.
  6. Select Druva inSync from the list of applications.
  7. Click inSync.
  8. Click Open.
  9. A prompt is displayed to apply the modified settings. Perform the following steps:
    1. Select Quit Now.
    2. Go to Launchpad and start the inSync Client.

This will allow inSync to access these locations that are configured for backup.

If inSync Client users do not provide inSync access to these locations, inSync will skip these locations and continue backing up other data.

 

  • Was this article helpful?