Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Select a specific folder for sync

Overview

By default, inSync syncs all your files and folders, the selected shared folders, and workspaces to all your devices. 
Using Selective Sync, you can exclude those folders that you do not want to sync to your device. All excluded folders will be deleted from your device. However, all the shared content is available on inSync Web, and will be stored in the inSync Server.
The Selective Sync setting is device specific. If you replace your device, the settings are not applicable to the new device.
Note: This feature is available for all editions of  inSync Cloud only.

What are the benefits?

Selective sync provides the following benefits:

  • Sync only the required folders on your device, so all items not selected will not be synced to your device.
  • Select only the required sub folders instead of syncing the entire parent folder on your device.

Prerequisite:

The inSync admin must have enabled inSync share for your account through the inSync Master Management Console.

How to select specific folders for sync?

Overview

As an inSync user, you can select specific folders using inSync Client.

Procedure

To select specific folders for sync

  1. Start the inSync client.
  2. In the navigation pane, click Sync & Share.
  3. In the right pane, click Selective Sync. The Select Folder window appears.


     
  4. Expand the parent folder. A list of subfolders will appear. This list includes all individual folders, shared folders, and workspaces that are marked for sync to device.
    This list will display only the synced folders that are available on inSync Server. 


     
  5. Clear the check boxes beside the folders that you do not want to sync. Click Update.

Note:The  icon displayed against a folder indicates that only specific sub folders within the parent folder are selected for sync.

The excluded folder will be deleted from your device. The list of unsynced folders appear in the Recently Synced area as Selectively Unsynced. However, you can access the folder contents through inSync Web.
 

How to include the previously excluded folders for sync?

Overview

As an inSync user, you can include the previously excluded folders from that device, for sync using inSync Client.

Procedure

To include the previously excluded folders for sync:

  1. Start the inSync client.
  2. In the navigation pane, click Sync & Share.
  3. In the right pane, click Selective Sync. The Select Folder window appears.


     
  4. Expand the parent folder.  A list of subfolders will appear. This list includes all individual folders, shared folders, and workspaces that are marked for sync to device.
    This list will display only the synced folders that are available on inSync Server.
  5. Select the folders you want to sync.



     
  6. Click Update.
     

Note:The  icon displayed against a folder indicates that only specific sub folders within the parent folder are selected for sync

The selected folder is downloaded to your device. Once sync is completed, the list of synced folders appear in the Recently Synced area as Selectively Synced. 

Scenarios

The following table lists different scenarios and their outcome.

Scenario Outcome

 

For workspaces and shared folders

For shared folders and workspaces that are synced the folders appear for sync and unsync. If they are not synced the folders do not appear for sync and unsync.

 

For newly-added folders

Newly added files and folders to the parent folder will be synced to the device by default. But any files or folders added inside an excluded folder, will not sync to device. 

 

For folders that are already present on inSync Cloud

If you exclude a subfolder from sync, the folder is deleted from your device. However, if you create another folder with the same name on your device, the folder is not synced to inSync Server. Also, the local folder on your device will not appear on inSync Web. However, if you select to sync the excluded subfolder, then the subfolder appears with the original name and the local subfolder appears with <folder name (conflict)> on inSync Web as well as on your device, once the folder is synced.

For excluded folders that are still being synced If a parent folder is being synced, and sync is in progress, and you exclude the parent folder from sync, which ever files and sub folders are synced with inSync Server, will be deleted from inSync client. However, if the files and folders are not yet synced and a copy is not available on inSync Server, the files and folders are not deleted from your device. This is because inSync maintains the content as the data is not yet synced to inSync Server.
For excluded folders that are renamed If an excluded folder is renamed, inSync treats the renamed folder as a new folder and downloads it to your device. However, on inSync Web, the excluded folder will be in deleted state, and the renamed folder will be in normal state. 
For folders deleted from inSync Web and then restored If a folder is deleted from inSync Web, the selection made on the Selective Sync page is maintained as it is.
For folders deleted permanently, but created again with the same name If a folder is deleted permanently from the InSync Web, but is created again with the same name, the earlier Selective Sync selection of folder is maintained when the folder gets synced to the device again.