Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Remotely replace a device linked to your inSync account

Overview

As an inSync User if you want to change your existing device or upgrade it to the latest software versions or if your device needs to be replaced due to damage, or due to loss or theft, a new device can be procured for you with all your data intact. The inSync administrator can now remotely do a device replace for your new device and ship the new device to you with all your data restored on it. After you receive the new device, inSync will automatically trigger system settings and MAPI restores. After that, the data stored at the temporary location will also be moved by inSync to the relevant paths and folders as required.

Advantages of device replace

  • The device is replaced remotely by the inSync administrator with minimal to no user efforts.
  • The inSync administrator can restore the user's data on the new device, ensuring there is no loss of data while doing so.
  • Restore failures due to poor connectivity or less available bandwidth issues are minimized considerably.
  • You receive a new device with data already restored on it. 
  • There is no loss of data, as even the restored data which cannot be mapped to its relevant path or folder stays in the temporary location forever.

When an inSync administrator remotely replaces and refreshes your old device with a new device, the old device stays unprotected until the new device is activated and shipped. You cannot take or schedule backups neither use inSync share on the old device. During this period there you are unable to take data backups on your old device.

To avoid any chances of losing data updates made on the old device while the new device is activated and shipped, inSync has provided the option of adding a new device in inSync instead of replacing your old device. The life cycles of both the devices will be managed independently.

Advantages of adding a new device

  • The old device is protected without any loss of data.
  • You can continue to take or schedule backups on the old device even when the new device is being activated and shipped.
  • You can continue to use both the devices independently.
  • System settings and MAPI data can now be restored from the latest snapshot when the user logs into the new device.

Limitations of adding a new device

  • You will continue to have two inSync devices unless the administrator decides to deactivate any one of them.
  • The space consumed by the new device will be added to your usage count. For example; if the data consumed by the old device was 20 GB of inSync Cloud space. After backups start on the new device, the user’s usage will change to 40 GB.
Move data from temporary restored data location to actual locations

If you are an Active Directory (AD) user, you will receive a new device with all your data (except for system settings and MAPI data), already restored at a temporary location on the device. In such a case you need to:

  1. Login to the new device using your AD credentials.
  2. System settings and MAPI data restore will start if they were backed up from the old device.
  3. inSync Client will restore user profile data from the temporary location to the appropriate locations on the new device. 
  4. Any data which is not moved will continue to reside at the temporary location and will not be deleted.

If you are a non-AD user you will receive the new device with all your data and system settings already restored for you by inSync Client. In such a case you need to:

  1. Login to the new device using credentials provided by the administrator and verify all the data and system settings have been moved and restored to the appropriate destination.
  2. In case some data still resides at the temporary location, you can either create the missing destinations and then move the data by coping the data from the temporary location to the missing destination or let the data continue to reside at the temporary location. There will be no loss of data.

Note: On both Windows and Mac, for AD users, user permissions and ownership will be restored as they were set on the source device. For non-AD users the ownership continues to remain with the users.

After all the data has been moved to the identified destination, the temporary restore location contains only those  files and folders which could not be moved either due to lack of permissions on the destination folder or no appropriate destination folder found.

Restored data location directories

All the data is stored at the following temporary locations. You can retrieve and map the data to its relevant destination paths and folders.

Restored data location directory for Windows 

Windows: C:\ProgramData\Druva\inSync4\device_refresh_data

Restored data location directory for  Mac 

Mac: /Library/Application Support/inSync/device_refresh_data

Quick folders 

are stored in {{Quick_Configs}} folder, like this:

device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/{{Quick_Configs}}/Desktop
device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/{{Quick_Configs}}/Pictures
device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/{{Quick_Configs}}/Home/some_folder
Wildcards 

There are five types of wildcards:

%homedir%/%home%/%userprofile%: these will be stored here: device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/{{Wildcard_Shares}}
%appdata%: this will be saved in device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/{{Appdata_Wildcard}}

If the wildcard share path does not start with the wildcard itself, then it is restored at the original location.
%username%: this will be restored on the destination device at the original location from where it was backed up

“All Drives” or all users’ homes or the specific user’s home 


If these were configured as an absolute path on the source device, then the home folders will be restored like these:

device_refresh_data/{{User_Profiles}}/User Name
device_refresh_data/{{User_Profiles}}/some_other_user_on_source_machine

Note: Only the current user’s profile in this folder will be moved and not the other profiles present in this folder.

Drive/Volume not present 


If a volume or drive, for example E drive, which was present and backed up on the old device is not present on the new device then it is restored at the following location:

 device_refresh_data/{{E}}
All other 

fsets/files will be stored at their original locations.