Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Guest User Guide in English

Overview

inSync Share is a platform for sharing and collaborating content with others. To use inSync Share for sharing data with inSync users, you must log on to inSync Web. The inSync Web URL and login credentials are contained in an automated email that you should have received. For ease of use, bookmark the inSync Web URL and remember the inSync Web login credentials. After you log on to inSync Web, the INSYNC SHARE page appears.

The following table lists the description of the INSYNC SHARE interface.

Area Description
Shared Content Content that you share with others or others share with you.
Workspaces Folders that the inSync administrator created to share content with different people who have the permissions.
Updates Your activities in the inSync Share page.

Guest user roles and responsibilities

After you log on to inSync Web, you can perform the following activities depending on the permissions assigned to you.

Activity Guest (Edit) Guest (View)
Download a shared folder or a workspace, or a file or folder contained in it

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
Create folders inside a shared folder or a workspace

yes.png

 

no.png

 
Delete files from the shared folder or a workspace

yes.png

 

no.png

 
Delete folders that you created in a shared folder or a workspace

yes.png

 

no.png

 
Delete files that you added to your shared folder or a workspace

yes.png

 

no.png

 
View files that are deleted from a shared folder or a workspace

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
View and download different versions of a file

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
View and download different versions of a folder

no.png

 

no.png

 
Manage your guest user account

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
Change language settings

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
Log out of inSync Web

yes.png

 

yes.png

 

Add folder to inSync Share

You can add folders inside a shared folder only if you have Edit permissions on the shared folder.

To create a new folder

  1. In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, click a folder.
  2. Click Create Folder. The Create Folder window appears.
  3. In the Folder Name box, type a name for the folder.
  4. Click Create.

Upload file to inSync Share

To upload file

  1. In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, click the row of the folder to which you want to upload files.
  2. Click Upload Files. The Upload Files window appears.
  3. Click the Click here to select files link.
  4. Select the file that you want to upload. If a file of the same name exists in the folder, then the existing file is over-written with the new file.
  5. Click Upload.

Download a shared folder 

To download a shared folder

  1. In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, click the row of the folder that you want to download.
  2. Click More > Download.

The folder is downloaded as a zip file.

Download a subfolder inside a shared folder

To download a subfolder

  1. In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, click a folder.
  2. Click the row of the folder that you want to download, and then click More > Download.

The folder is downloaded as a zip file. 

Download the most-recent version of a file

To download files

  1. In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, click a folder.
  2. Click the row of the file that you want to download.
  3. Click More > Download.

The file is downloaded in its original format. 

Download previous version of a file

If a file in inSync Share is updated, inSync saves different versions of that file.

Note:
  • You can download an earlier version of a file only if you are a guest user with Edit permission.
  • You cannot download a previous version of a folder.

To download previous version of a file

  1. In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, click a folder, and then click the row of the file for which you want to view the previous version.
  2. Click More > Show Previous Versions. The Show Previous Versions window appears.
  3. Click the version that you want to download.
  4. Click Download.

The file is downloaded on your laptop.

Delete a file or folder

You can delete files or folders only if you are a guest user with Edit permissions.

To delete a file or folder

  1. In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, click a folder.
  2. Click the row of the folder or file that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

The folder or file is deleted from the inSync Share folder. However, these deleted files and folders are retained on inSync Web.

View deleted files and folders

You can view a list of files and folders that are deleted from the shared folder.

To view the deleted files or folders

  • In the Shared Content or Workspaces table, select the Show Deleted check box.

The deleted files and folders appear. The deleted files and folders are represented by Deleted icon.jpg icon.

  • Was this article helpful?