Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

About workspace

Overview

A workspace is a shared folder that is created by inSync administrator, and includes the following features:

  • Quota usage

    The contents of the workspace is considered as a part of the company's quota usage and not as a part of individual user's quota usage.

  • Manager permissions

    inSync administrator can assign a manager to the workspace. The manager can be either a single inSync Share user or a group of Share users. However, inSync administrators cannot assign a guest user as a workspace manager, or assign more than one manager for a workspace.

  • Persistent storage

    Workspace provides persistent storage for the data. This means that even if the manager or the inSync administrator leaves the organization, collaborators can still access the data. The data does not get deleted.

How is a workspace different from a shared folder?

Following table summarizes the differences between a workspace and a shared folder.

Feature Workspace Shared folder
Quota usage

When you create a workspace as an inSync administrator, the contents of the workspace is considered as a part of the company's quota usage and not as a part of your quota usage.

This is also true when your collaborators add files to the workspace.

When you create and share a folder, and add files to the folder, the contents of the folder is considered as part of your quota usage. This is also true when your collaborators add files to your shared folder. 

If you add files to folders that other people have shared, this does not affect your quota usage. The newly-added files or folders are considered as a part of the owner's quota usage.

Validity of shared data

Contents of the workspace are not deleted even if the manager's or inSync administrator's account is deleted. For example, when manager or inSync administrator leave the organization. The collaborators can continue to access the data, because the data does not get deleted.

In such case, a new manager can be assigned for the workspace.

Shared folders are deleted if the owner's account is deleted. For example, when the owner leaves the organization.

In such case, the collaborators will not be able to access the shared data anymore.

Example Suitable for collaboration within different departments within an organization. For example, HR or Finance departments. Suitable for collaboration for temporary purposes. For example, to send data for review to cross-functional teams.
  • Was this article helpful?