Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Pause and resume a sync operation

Overview

If the inSync administrator has enabled sharing, then you can pause an ongoing sync operation. 

inSync enables you to sync a folder to your laptops. If you sync a folder, it appears inside the inSync Share folder on your laptop. Any change made to the contents of the folder is automatically synced to your laptop.

Pause a sync operation

You can pause an ongoing sync operation in either of the following ways:

  • Pause sync from the system tray of your laptop
  • Pause both backup and sync operations
  • Pause sync from inSync Client

Pause sync from the system tray of your laptop

From the system tray of your laptop, right-click the inSync icon Pause insync icon.PNG to pause the both backup and sync operations. 

Pause_insync_system_tray_Mac.png

Pause both backup and sync operations

From the system tray of your laptop, click Pause inSync to pause both backup and ongoing sync operations. If either one operation was paused previously, then the pause operation is reinitiated and the pause duration is reset.

Pause_inSync_Mac.png

Pause sync from inSync Client

From the Sync & Share page of inSync Client, click the Pause icon beside the ongoing sync operation. 

Pause_insync_from_inSync_client_Mac.png

The sync operation is paused and the Sync Paused message appears at Sync & Share page of inSync Client. The page also includes information about the time when the sync operation was paused in 24-hour format, and the duration after which the paused sync operation resumes by default. The default pause duration for inSync is 4 hours. However, you can configure the pause duration to either 2, 4, 8, or 12 hours. For more information, see how to update the sync interval.

Sync_paused_from_insync_client.png

The Recently Synced Files list in inSync Client displays the last 6 synced files along with the action type, such as added, removed, or updated.

Resume a sync operation

You can resume a sync operation in either of the following ways:

  • Resume sync from the system tray of your laptop
  • Resume both backup and sync operations
  • Resume sync from inSync Client

Resume sync from the system tray of your laptop

​From the system tray of your laptop, right-click the inSync icon Resume insync icon.PNG to resume both backup and sync operations.

Resume_insync_from_system_tray_Mac.png.png

Resume both backup and sync operations

Click Resume inSync from the system tray to resume both backup and sync operations.

Resume sync_Mac.png

Resume sync from inSync Client

From the Sync & Share page of inSync Client, click the Play icon beside the paused sync operation.

Resume_insync_from_insync_client_Mac.png

Once the sync operation resumes, you see the following message at Sync & Share page of inSync Client:

Sync in progress.png

The sync operation is completed, and the Sync Completed message appears at Sync & Share page of inSync Client. The page also displays information about the time when the sync operation was completed.

Sync completed.png

Following is the impact on share capabilities:

  • Ongoing file or folder sync process: If you pause the sync operation, then all ongoing sync is paused. Any additional files or folders added during the paused state is queued for sync, but will not get synced until you resume the sync operation.
  • File locking: You can lock or unlock files that are synced before you pause the sync operation. In the paused state, files that are yet to be synced cannot be locked. However, you cannot lock any new files that are added to the shared folder as they are not yet synced.
  • Encryption of the share folder: If the inSync administrator has enabled or disabled encryption for the inSync Share folder, files which are already synced will get encrypted or decrypted. However, any new files added to the shared folder will not get encrypted or decrypted as they are not yet synced.
  • Location of shared folder: You cannot change the location of the shared folder when sync is paused. 
  • Shared folder icon on inSync Client: When sync is paused, the shared folder updates are not reflected on the inSync Client.