After every backup, the inSync Client saves a snapshot of the backup data to a storage. This snapshot contains a set of reference pointers to the data that the inSync Client backed up. The number of snapshots retained in a storage depends on the number of backups completed and the retention policy followed by your organization.
Data restore requests
You can restore data by using the inSync Client or the inSync Web. Some of the qualities of data restore are:
- Restore requests are added to a queue and are completed sequentially.
- Restore requests will remain in queue if the inSync Client is not connected to the inSync Server. Restores will start whenever connection is established.
- Restore will stop if the connection between the inSync Client and the inSync Server is interrupted. Restore resumes after the connection is reestablished.
Data restore locations
If you have multiple laptops, the number of locations to which you can restore data depends on the laptop to which you are restoring the data. You cannot restore data to your mobile device or from your mobile device to your laptop. When you perform a restore operation, the mobile devices that are added to your inSync account do not appear in the Restore to device list.
The following table lists the various location options displayed when restoring data.
|Restore laptop is...||Restore location options...|
|The same laptop from which data was backed up|| |
|Different laptop from which data was backed up|| |
If you restore files to the desktop or a custom location, the restored folder name contains the timestamp of the restore. If you restore files to the original location, existing files with the same names are overwritten.
Status of file metadata after restore
If you restore files to the Desktop or to a custom location on your laptop, the inSync Client does not restore the metadata of the original file. However, if you restore files to the original location, the inSync Client restores the metadata of the original file. The following table lists the metadata that the inSync Client retains when a file is restored to the original location.
| || || |
Note: The Access control list is restored on Windows laptops only if you restore a file to its original location and have Full Control permissions on the parent folder.