Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Lock and unlock a file in inSync Share

Overview

File locking is a mechanism that restricts share users from simultaneously editing the same shared files to prevent file conflicts. When a file is locked, only the share user who set the lock can modify that file. Other share users can access the file in read-only mode. By restricting simultaneous edit rights to files, the file locking mechanism prevents file-level conflicts.

Notes:
  • To ensure that the file locking feature is available, on Windows computers, restart your file manager. On Mac devices, restart Finder. If you cannot lock files after restarting your computer, contact your inSync administrator. 
  • If a share user locks a file and then leaves the folder containing the file, the file lock is not retained. For information on leaving a folder, see Leave a folder
  • If a share user locks a file and the user is deleted later, the file lock is not retained. 
  • If the owner of a folder unshares the folder that contains a locked file, the file lock is not retained. For information on unsharing a folder, see Unshare a folder.

Scenarios where inSync creates conflict files

In event of the following potential conflict scenarios, inSync creates a conflict file in the <filename>(conflict).extension format: 

  • A share user locks a file that another share user has opened, and is editing.
  • A share user makes offline changes to a file that another user has locked.
  • A share user who is using an earlier version of inSync Client attempts to modify a file that is locked​.
  • A share user having multiple devices attempts to simultaneously modify a file on multiple devices.

Lock a file in inSync Share

If you are an owner, a collaborator with edit rights, or a guest with edit rights, you can lock a file from the inSync Share folder. Other collaborators of the locked file can access the file a read-only file.

Note: You can lock files that are inside shared folders or workspaces. 

To lock a file in inSync Share

  1. Start inSync.
  2. On the Summary page, click Share.
  3. Right-click the file that you want to lock. 
  4. Click inSync Share > Lock File.

The owner and the collaborators receive notifications informing them that you set the lock. A lock icon appears next to the file that you locked. 

Notes:
  • The file remains locked for 1 hour. inSync sends you a notification 5 minutes before lock expiration. After the lock expires, you can lock the file again. To do this, perform steps 1 to 3.
  • If you want to set the lock for more than 1 hour, you must lock the file from inSync Web

Unlock a file in inSync Share

If you are an owner, a collaborator with edit rights, or a guest with edit rights, you can unlock a file from the inSync Share folder.  After you unlock a file, collaborators with edit rights can modify the file.

To unlock a file in inSync Share

  1. Start inSync.
  2. On the Summary page, click Share.
  3. Right-click the file that you want to unlock. 
  4. Click inSync Share > Unlock file.
  5. (For share users who did not set the lock) On the unlock dialog box, click Unlock file to confirm the unlock operation. 

The owner and the collaborators receive notifications informing them that the lock is removed. 

  • Was this article helpful?