Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Guest User Guide

Overview

This guide explains how an inSync guest user can collaborate with inSync users through the inSync Web interface.

Getting started with inSync Share

The inSync Web URL and log in credentials are contained in an automated email. For ease of use, we recommend you to bookmark the inSync Web URL and remember the inSync Web login credentials that you have received.

As you log in to the inSync Web, the inSync Share page is displayed. inSync Share is a platform for sharing and collaborating content with others. The inSync Share page displays all files and folders you have shared with others or others have shared with you. The Shared Content table in the inSync Share lists the folders that are shared with you, the name of the inSync user who has shared the folders with you, and other collaborators of the shared folders. The Updates table in the inSync Share displays share activity updates of the inSync user and other collaborators of the shared folders. 

Activities performed through the Share page

Through the Share page on inSync Web, you can perform the following activities depending on the permissions assigned to you.

Activity Guest (Edit) Guest (View)
Download the shared folder or any file or folder inside it

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
Create folders inside the shared folder

yes.png

 

no.png

 
Delete files in the shared folder

yes.png

 

no.png

 
Delete folders that you have created in the shared folder

yes.png

 

no.png

 
Delete files that you have added to your folder

yes.png

 

no.png

 
View files that have been deleted from the shared folder

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
View and download different versions of a file

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
View and download different versions of a folder

no.png

 

no.png

 
Manage your guest user account

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
Change the UI text to a different supported language

yes.png

 

yes.png

 
Logout of inSync Web

yes.png

 

yes.png

 

Adding files and folders in inSync Share

Note: You can add folders and files inside the shared folder only if you have Edit rights on the shared folder.

To create a new folder

  1. In the Shared Content table, click the folder inside which you want to create a new folder.
  2. Click Create a new folder (UploadFolders.jpg).
  3. Specify a folder name.
  4. Click Create.

 

To upload files

  1. In the Shared Content table, click the folder inside which you want to upload files. If you want to upload files inside a specific folder, then select that folder.
  2. Click Upload files to this folder (UploadFiles.jpg).
  3. Browse and select the files to upload. If a file of the same name already exists in the folder then it is over-written with the new file.
  4. Click Upload.

Downloading the latest version of folder 

You can download a shared folder or specific folders inside a shared folder.

 

To download a shared folder

  1. In the Shared Content table, select the folder you want to download.
  2. Click Download. The folder is downloaded as a Zip.

 

To download any specific folder inside the shared folder

  1. In the Shared Content table, select the shared folder.
  2. Inside the shared folder, select the folder that you want to download.
  3. Click Download. The folder is downloaded as a Zip. 

Downloading the latest version of files from the shared folders

To download files

  1. In the Shared Content table, select the folder whose file you want to download.
  2. Inside the shared folder, select the file that you want to download.
  3. Click Download. The file is downloaded in its original format. 

Downloading an earlier version of a file

If a file in inSync Share is changed, inSync stores the different versions of that file.

To download an earlier version

  1. In the Shared Content table, select the folder.
  2. Select the file whose previous version you want to download.
  3. Click Show Previous Versions.
  4. Select the version you want to download (applicable only to guest users with Edit rights).
  5. Click Download. The file is downloaded on your computer.
Note: You cannot download an earlier version of a folder.

Deleting a file or folder

Note: You can only delete files or folders that are inside the shared folder and if you have Edit rights on the shared folder.

To delete a file or folder

  1. In the Shared Content table, select the shared folder from which you want to delete folders or files.
  2. Select the folder or file you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. Click Yes to confirm deletion.

The folder or file is deleted from the inSync Share folder and moved under the deleted files list.

Viewing deleted files and folders

You can view a list of files and folders that are deleted from the shared folder under the deleted files list. To view the deleted files or folders, you can click (ShowDeletes.jpg) icon in your Shared folder. The deleted files and folders, represented by DeletedFiles.jpg and DeletedFolders.jpg icons are displayed. Additionally, you can view an earlier version of the deleted file or folder and download the deleted file and folder on your computer.

  • Was this article helpful?