Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Impact of modifying data inside inSync Share folder of your device

Overview

This topic explains the effects of adding, deleting, and moving files inside the inSync Share folder of your device.

Types of folders inside inSync Share

Any folder inside inSync Share can be classified into two types.

  • Share folders - These are the folders that you have shared with others, or others have shared with you. These folders are also synced across your devices.
  • Sync folders - These are the folders that are only synced across your devices.

Impact of modifying data in a sync folder

The following table describes the impact of changes in a sync folder.

Change Impact on Collaborators Impact on Your Other Devices
You add a file or folder inside the sync folder None The file or folder is available across all your devices
You delete a file or folder inside the sync folder None The file or folder is deleted from all your devices. However, you can access the deleted file or folder  on inSync Web
You modify the content or rename a file or folder inside the sync folder None The changes are reflected across all your devices
You rename the folder None The name change is reflected across all your devices
You move the folder inside another sync folder None The change is reflected across all your devices
You move the sync folder inside a share folder A new folder is available for the collaborators of the share folder The change is reflected across all your devices
You delete the sync folder itself None The folder is deleted across all your devices. However, you can access the deleted folder  on inSync Web

Impact of modifying data in a share folder

The following table describes the impact of changes in a share folder.

Change Impact on Collaborators Impact on Your Other Devices
You add a file or folder to a share folder The file or folder is available to all collaborators of the share folder The file or folder is available across all your devices
You delete a file or folder from inside a share folder The file or folder is deleted for all collaborators, including the owner. However, they can access the deleted file or folder on inSync Web. The file or folder is deleted from all your devices. However, you can access the deleted file or folder  on inSync Web
You modify the content or rename a file or folder inside a share folder The changes are reflected for all collaborators of the share folder The changes are reflected across all your devices
You rename a share folder No impact The name change is reflected across all your devices
You move a share folder inside another sync folder No impact The change is reflected across all your devices
You move a share folder inside another share folder of which you are the owner The folder loses its share properties. It is deleted for all original collaborators and is available to the collaborators of the now parent share folder The change is reflected across all your devices
You move a share folder inside another share folder of which you are a collaborator The folder loses its share properties. It is available to the collaborators of the now parent share folder. Changes made by the original collaborators will not be propagated to it. The change is reflected across all your devices
You delete a share folder of which you are the owner The folder is deleted for all collaborators. The folder is deleted across all your devices. However, you can access the deleted folder  on inSync Web
You delete a share folder of which you are a collaborator No impact The folder is deleted across all your devices. You cannot access the deleted folder  on inSync Web
  • Was this article helpful?