Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Managing shared folders

Overview

This topic explains how to manage shared folders. It includes instructions for adding or removing collaborators, modifying collaborator rights, and leaving or unsharing a folder.

Managing collaborators

Adding collaborators

Note: You can add collaborators only if you are the owner or an inSync Share user with edit privileges on the shared folder. Guest users cannot add collaborators.

To add collaborators

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click Share Content.
  3. Browse and select the folder to which you want to add collaborators and click Manage Collaborators. The Manage Collaborators window appears.
  4. Type the email IDs of the new collaborators and click Add.
  5. Assign each collaborator edit or view privileges. 
  6. Click Save.

Modifying privileges assigned to collaborators

Note: You can modify collaborator privileges only if you are the owner or an inSync Share user with edit privileges on the shared folder. You cannot modify privileges of the owner. Guest users cannot modify collaborator privileges.

To modify priviledges assigned to collaborators

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click Share Content.
  3. Browse and select the folder on which you want to modify collaborator rights and click Manage Collaborators. The Manage Collaborators window appears.
  4. Modify the edit or view privileges of the required collaborators. 
  5. Click Save.

Removing collaborators from a shared folder

Note: You can remove collaborators only if you are the owner or an inSync Share user with edit privileges on the shared folder. You cannot remove the owner. Guest users cannot remove collaborators.

To remove collaborators from a shared folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click Share Content.
  3. Browse and select the folder from which you want to remove collaborators and click Manage Collaborators. The Manage Collaborators window appears.
  4. Click the remove icon next to the collaborators you want to remove. 
  5. Click Save.

Selectively syncing shared folder

Syncing a shared folder with your device

Note: You can sync a shared folder with your device only if you are the owner or an inSync Share user. Guest users cannot sync shared content to their devices.

To sync a shared folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click Share Content.
  3. Select the folder that you want to sync to your device.
  4. Click Sync to my device.

Stop syncing a shared folder with your device

To stop syncing a shared folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click Share Content.
  3. Select the folder that you want to sync to your device.
  4. Click Don't sync to my device.

Unsharing or leaving a shared folder

Unsharing a folder

Note: You can unshare a folder if you are its owner. After you unshare a folder, it is deleted from the inSync Share folder of all collaborators. Guest users no longer have access to the shared folder on inSync Web.

To unshare a folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click Share Content.
  3. Browse and select the folder that you want to unshare and click Manage Collaborators. The Manage Collaborators window appears.
  4. Click Unshare Folder.

Leaving a shared folder

Note: If you are an inSync Share user, you can leave folders that have been shared with you. When you leave a folder, it is deleted from the inSync Share folder of your device. You can no longer see the folder on inSync Web. Guest users cannot leave a folder.

To unshare a folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click Share Content.
  3. Browse and select the folder that you want to leave and click Manage Collaborators. The Manage Collaborators window appears.
  4. Click Leave Folder.
  • Was this article helpful?