Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Managing content in inSync Share

Quota restrictions to inSync Share

The amount of data that you can save to inSync Share is governed by the quota assigned to you by your inSync administrator. The sum of data backed up from your devices and the data in inSync Share cannot exceed the quota that is assigned to you.

  • If you are the owner of a shared folder, all files added to the folder consume your quota.
  • If you are a collaborator of a shared folder, files that you add to the folder add to the owner's quota consumption.
  • Selective sync status of shared folders does not affect your quota. Irrespective of the selective sync status, if you are the owner of a shared folder, the data on it consumes your quota.
  • Files added to a synced folder consume your quota.
  • Unless a file is permanently deleted, it consumes your quota.
  • The number of devices associated with your inSync Share account does not affect your quota.

Adding files and folders to inSync Share

To add files and folders inside the inSync Share folder

  • Copy the files or folders inside the inSync Share folder.

Files and folders added to the inSync Share folder are synced across all your devices and are accessible via inSync Web.

Creating a folder on inSync Web

Note: You cannot add files or folders to the share folders to which you have only view rights. 

To create a folder on inSync Web

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Select the location to which you want to create the folder.
  4. Click the Create Folder (folderupload.png) icon.
  5. Enter the name of the folder and click Create.

 

Uploading a file to inSync Web

To upload a file through inSync Web

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Select the location to which you want to upload the file.
  4. Click the Upload Files (fileupload.png​) icon.
  5. Drag files that you want to upload to the window. Alternatively, click Click here to select files to select the file.
  6. Click Upload.
Note:
A.
You can queue files for upload. Files are uploaded sequentially.
B. You cannot upload a file that is larger than 300 MB.
C. You cannot upload a folder. 
D. While uploading a file, do not close inSync Web. All pending uploads in the queue will be canceled.
E. If your device loses connectivity with inSync server, uploads are put on hold. Do not close inSync Web. When the connectivity issue is resolved, uploads will start from the state at which the upload was interrupted.

Downloading the most-recent version of a file or folder

To download the latest version of a file or folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Select the file or folder that you want to download.
  4. Click More > Download.

Folders are downloaded as an archive file with .zip extension. Files are downloaded as is.

Download an earlier version of a file

To download an earlier version of a file

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Browse and select the file that you want to download.
  4. Click More > Show Previous Versions
  5. Select the version that you want to download and click Download.
Note: You cannot download previous versions of a folder.

Deleting files or folders on your device

To delete files or folder through your device

  • Delete the files or folders inside inSync Share on your device.

You can view the deleted file under the deleted files list on inSync Web.

Deleting a file or folder from inSync ​Web

To delete a file or folder through inSync Web

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Select the file or folder that you want to delete.
  4. Click More > Delete.

The file or folder is deleted from the inSync Share folder on your device. The file or folder appears under the deleted files list. 

Viewing deleted files or folders from inSync Web

To view deleted files or folders on inSync Web

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Click the View Deleted Files (showdeleted.png) icon.

The deleted files and folders, represented by the deletedfile.png and deletedfolder.png icons are displayed.

Note: Click the Hide Deleted Files (hidedeleted.png) icon to hide the deleted file.

Restoring a deleted file or folder

To restore a deleted file or folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Click the View Deleted Files (showdeleted.png) icon.
  4. Select the file or folder that you want to restore.
  5. Click More > Restore.

The file or folder is saved to the inSync Share folder on your device.

Permanently deleting a file or folder

To permanently delete a file or folder

  1. Open the Share page on inSync Web.
  2. On the left-navigation panel, click All Content.
  3. Click the View Deleted Files (showdeleted.png) icon.
  4. Select the deleted file or folder that you want to delete permanently.
  5. Click More > Delete Permanently.

File and folder naming convention for inSync Share folder

The files and folders within the inSync Share folder are case-insensitive. This means you cannot have two files that have the same name but differ in capitalization of the letters. Similarly, you cannot have two folders that have the same name but differ in capitalization of the letters.

The following cases explains what happens when you try to create two files or folders with the same name but different case.

  • Creating a file with an existing file name: Say, you already have a file ReadMe.txt in one of the folders inside inSync Share folder. In the same folder you create another file readme.txt. inSync will prompt you to save the new file as readme2.txt. Thereafter it will delete readme.txt.
  • Creating a folder with an existing folder name: Say, you already have a folder called Documentation. At the same directory, you create another folder called DoCumentation. inSync will prompt you merge the new folder with the existing one.
  • Uploading a file with an existing file name: Say, you already have a file called notes.txt. Using inSync Web, you upload a new file NoTes.txt in the same folder. inSync will overwrite the contents of the file notes.txt with contents of the file NoTes.txt and then delete NoTes.txt.
  • Simultaniously create two files with same name: Say you simultaniously created two files, one named samefile.txt and the other named SameFile.txt inside the same folder. You create the first in the inSync Share folder on your device and the second through inSync Web. Both files will be visible on inSync Web. However, only one of them will be synchronized across all your devices.
  • Restoring a deleted file when a file with the same name exists: You will not be able to restore a deleted file if a file with the same name exists in the same directory. You must first change the name of the deleted file and then restore it. 
​​Note: On Linux laptops, if your create multiple files with same name but different cases, all files other than the original will appear with the suffix "conflict".
  • Was this article helpful?