Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Lock or unlock a file

Overview

File locking is a mechanism that restricts share users from simultaneously editing the same shared files to prevent file conflicts. When a file is locked, only the share user who set the lock can modify that file. Other share users can access the file in read-only mode. By restricting simultaneous edit rights to files, the file locking mechanism prevents file-level conflicts. ​ 

Note: When you rename or move a locked file, inSync Share treats the file as a new file and the file lock is not retained. When the inSync client syncs with the server, the original file is downloaded at the original location of the file, with the original name, and the file lock is retained for the original file. 

Lock a file from inSync Web or inSync Share

If you are an owner, a collaborator with edit rights, or a guest with edit rights, you can lock a file inside shared folders or workspaces by using inSync Web. If you have inSync Share enabled, you can also lock files directly from your desktop inSync Share folder or workspace. After you lock a file, other collaborators of the locked file can access the file as a read-only file. 

Note: You can lock files that are inside shared folders or workspaces. To ensure that the file locking feature is available, if you are using Windows OS, restart File Explorer. If you are using Mac OS, restart Finder.

Lock a file by using inSync Web

To lock a file by using inSync Web

  1. Open inSync Web. The INSYNC SHARE page appears.
  2. In the All Contents table, click the row of the folder that contains the file that you want to lock. 
  3. Click More > Lock File. A dialog box containing options for customizing the lock appears. 
  4. In the Duration of the lock list, click the appropriate duration for which you want to lock the file. 
  5. Click Lock file

The owner and the collaborators receive notifications informing them that you set the lock. A lock icon appears next to the file that you locked. 

Note: inSync sends you a notification 5 minutes before lock expiration. After the lock expires, you can set the lock again by performing steps 1 to 5. You can also lock the file in inSync Share. 

Lock a file by using inSync Share

To lock a file by using inSync Share

  1. Start the inSync client.
  2. On the Summary page, click Share.
  3. Right-click the file that you want to lock. 
  4. Click inSync Share > Lock file.

The owner and the collaborators receive notifications informing them that you set the lock. A lock icon appears next to the file that you locked. 

Notes:
  • The file remains locked for 1 hour. The inSync client sends you a notification 5 minutes before lock expiration. After the lock expires, you can lock the file again. To do this, perform steps 1 to 3.
  • If you want to set the lock for more than 1 hour, you must lock the file from inSync Web. 

Unlock a file by using inSync Web or inSync Share

If you are an owner, a collaborator with edit rights, or a guest with edit rights, you can unlock a file by using inSync Web or inSync Share. After you unlock a file, collaborators with edit rights can modify the file.

Note: To ensure that the file locking feature is available, if you are using Windows OS, restart File Explorer. If you are using Mac OS, restart Finder.

Unlock a file by using inSync Web 

To unlock a file by using inSync Web

  1. Open inSync Web. The INSYNC SHARE page appears.
  2. In the All Contents table, click the row of the folder that contains the file that you want to unlock. 
  3. Click More > Unlock File
  4. (Share users who did not set the lock) On the unlock dialog box, click Unlock file to confirm the unlock operation. 

The owner and the collaborators receive notifications informing them that the lock is removed.

Unlock a file by using inSync Share

To unlock a file by using inSync Share

  1. Start the inSync client.
  2. On the Summary page, click Share.
  3. Right-click the file that you want to unlock. 
  4. Click inSync Share > Unlock file.
  5. (For share users who did not set the lock) On the Unlock dialog box, click Unlock file to confirm the unlock operation. 

The owner and the collaborators receive notifications informing them that the lock is removed. 

Scenarios where inSync creates conflict files

In event of the following potential conflict scenarios, inSync creates a conflict file in the <filename>(conflict).extension format: 

  • A share user locks a file that another share user has opened, and is editing.
  • A share user makes offline changes to a file that another user has locked.
  • A share user who is using an earlier version of the inSync client attempts to modify a file that is locked​.
  • A share user having multiple devices attempts to simultaneously modify a file on multiple devices.

​​Notes:

  • If a share user locks a file and then leaves the folder containing the file, the file lock is not retained. For information on leaving a folder, see Leave a folder

  • If a share user locks a file and the user is deleted later, the file lock is not retained. 

  • If the owner of a folder unshares the folder containing a locked file, the file lock is not retained. For information on unsharing a folder, see Unshare a folder