Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Configuring inSync Share settings

This topic explains how to enable inSync share for users. It also contains instructions on how to define the number of versions to be retained for a file, how to limit the groups with which a user can share data, and how to allow users to share data through links. Note: You must have inSync Share license to enable share functionality for your users. Contact support@druva.com for the license. All features described in this topic can only be controlled through profiles. Any change to an existing profile is applicable for all users of that profile.

Enabling inSync Share for users

Using inSync Share, the users can share files and folder between their devices as well as with other inSync users.

To enable inSync share

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile to which you want to add inSync Share functionality.
  3. Click the Share tab and then click Edit. The edit window appears.
    share-enable.png
  4. Select Enable Sharing
  5. Click Save.

Defining the number of versions to be retained for a file

You can define the number of versions that will be retained for any file in the inSync Share folder of a user. To define the number of versions fo a file to be retained

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to modify.
  3. Click the Share tab and then click Edit. The edit window appears.
  4. Make sure Enable sharing is selected.
  5. In the # versions of a file to be retained field, specify the number of versions of a file to be retained.
    share-versions.png
  6. Click Save.

Limiting the groups with which a user can share data

By default, a user for whom you have enabled inSync Share can share data with any other inSync Share user in your organization. If you want you can restrict the group of people with whom a user can share data. For example, you can restrict users belonging to the Finance profile to share data with people belonging to the Admin profile, HR profile, and Mgmt profile.

To limit user's ability to share data with other profiles

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to modify.
  3. Click the Share tab and then click Edit. The edit window appears.
  4. Make sure Enable sharing is selected.
  5. In the Allow sharing with profiles field, enter the profiles with which the user can share data.
    share-profiles.png
  6. Click Save.

Allowing users to create download or view links

You can allow users to share files by creating links:

  • For MS Word, MS PowerPoint, MS Excel, and PDF documents, users can create view only and download links.
  • For all other documents, users can only create download links.

Users can share these links with anybody - within or outside your organization:

  • Recipients of download links can download the file or folder.
  • Recipients of view only links can view the file shared with them on their browser through the inSync viewer interface.

When allowing users to create links, you can also:

  • Define the number of days after which a download or view link created by a user will expire. After a link expires, recipients of the links will no longer be able to download or view files shared with them.
  • Make it mandatory to generate password protected links. Password for a link is sent separately to the recipients of the link. If generating password protected links is not mandatory, users get the option to send a password protected link or an unprotected link. 

 

To allow users to create download or view links

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to modify.
  3. Click the Share tab and then click Edit. The edit window appears.
  4. Make sure Enable sharing is selected.
  5. Select Enable link sharing. Additional fields are displayed.
    share-links.png
  6. Enter the following details:
    • Select Mandatory password for links if you want all links to be password protected.
    • In the Link expires in field, enter the number of days after which you want the links created by users to become non-functional.
  7. Click Save.

  • Was this article helpful?