Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Managing users added to inSync

Overview

This topic explains how to view the list of users and their devices. It contains instructions on changing the email address, profile, and quota assigned to a user. It also contains instructions for disabling, enabling, and deleting users.

Viewing the list of users

To view the list of all users

  • On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.

The list of all users created in inSync is displayed.

userlist.png

Disabling, enabling, and deleting users

Difference between disabling and deleting users

The following table describes the difference between a disabled and deleted user.

Property Disabled User Deleted User
inSync license License is revoked License is revoked
Ability to backup or share data on device Not possible Not possible
Data backed up till date Retained on storage Deleted from storage
Data in inSync Share folder Retained on storage Deleted from storage
Ability to restore data Administrators can download data of the user unless the user had revoked administrator access to data Not possible
Quota restrictions Continue to apply Not applicable
Ability to reverse the disabled or deleted state Yes. Users can resume backup and sharing when enabled Not possible

Disabling users

To disable users

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users you want to disable.
  3. Click Disable.

Enabling users

To enable disabled users

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users you want to enable.
  3. Click Enable.

Deleting users

To delete users

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

Changing user configuration details

Changing the profile assigned to users

To change the profile assigned to a user

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users whose profile you want to change.
  3. Click More > Change Profile. The Change Profile window appears.
    changeprofile.png
  4. In the Select Profile list, select the desired profile for the users.
  5. Click Save.

Changing user quota

To change the quota allotted to a user, you can either change the quota defined in the user's profile or you can change the quota for the individual user. However, changing the quota defined in the profile will affect all users assigned to the profile.

To change the quota of an individual user

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the user whose quota you want to modify.
  3. Click the Summary tab.
  4. Under User Summary, click Edit. The Edit User window appears.
    changequota.png
  5. In the User quota field, enter the desired quota for the user. Enter 0 (zero) if you want to assign unlimited quota to the user.
  6. Click Save.
Note: Changing the quota on profile of will not have an impact on those users whose quota has been changed individually.

Changing the name and email address of a user

To change the name and email address of a user

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the user whose quota you want to modify.
  3. Click the Summary tab.
  4. Under User Summary, click Edit. The Edit User window appears.
    changeemail.png
  5. Change the email address and name as required.
  6. Click Save.

Resetting user password

To reset password for the users

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users for whom you want to reset the password.
  3. Click More > Reset Password. The Reset Password window appears.
    resetpassword.png
  4. If required, customize the subject and body of the reset password email.
  5. Click Reset Password.

New passwords are emailed to the users.

  • Was this article helpful?