Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Deleting data from a device

This topic explains the various ways in which you can delete data from a user's device.

Ways of deleting data from a user's device

There are certain scenarios in which you may want to remotely wipe off data from a user's device. For example, the user has lost his device, and in order to protect the confidentiality of your organization's data, you want to delete the data on it.

Note: Using inSync, you can delete data only form the backup and inSync Share folders of the device. You cannot delete data from other folders on the device.

There are two different ways in which you can use inSync to remotely wipe off data from the user's device:

  • Decommissioning a device: Decommissioning a device securely wipes out data from the inSync Share and backup folders of a device. You can decommission a device only when it is online and inSync server can communicate with it.
  • Enabling auto-delete: Enabling auto-delete is a pre-emptive step to protect data on your device. When enabled, it deletes data from a device if it cannot connect to the inSync server for a stipulated period of time. The auto-delete functionality is applicable only for user computers and not for mobile devices.
Note: To be able to remotely wipe off data from iOS devices, such as iPhone and iPad, you must upload an SSL and an APN certificate on the inSync server.

Securely wiping out data from a device

Decommissioning a device securely wipes out data from the backup and inSync share folders of the device.

 

To decommission a device:

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device that you want to decommission.
  4. Click Decommission Device.

The decommissioning process for the device starts. Depending on the amount of data in the backup and inSync Share folders, the decommissioning process may take some time.

Enabling automatic deletion of data from a computer

Note: This feature can only be controlled through profiles. Any change to an existing profile is applicable for all users of that profile.

When enabled, data from the backup and inSync Share folders of a computer is automatically deleted if the device does not connect to the inSync server for a stipulated number of days. When enabling auto-delete feature, you can configure:

  • The number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, an alert will be sent to the inSync administrators informing that data from the device will soon be deleted.
  • The number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, data from the inSync Share and backup folders will be deleted.

 

To enable auto-delete functionality

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Profiles.
  2. Click the profile that you want to modify.
  3. Click the DLP tab.
  4. Under DLP for Laptops, click Edit. The edit window appears.
  5. Select Auto delete. Additional fields are displayed.
    dlp-autodelete.png
  6. Enter the following details:
    • In the Auto delete folders if device does not connect for field, specify the number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, data from the inSync Share and backup folders will be deleted.
    • In the Alert if device does not connect for field, specify the number of days for which if the user's device does not connect to the inSync server, an alert will be sent to the inSync administrators.
  7. Click Save.

Managing auto-delete functionality

Putting auto-delete on hold for a device

There can be scenarios where a user's device does not connect to inSync server even if it is not stolen or lost. For example, an employee may be on vacation. In such cases you can put the auto-delete functionality on hold for that device.

To put auto-delete functionality on hold for a device

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device for which you want to put auto-delete functionality on hold.
  4. Click Mark On Hold.

Removing auto-delete on hold for a device

To remove auto-delete on hold for a device

  1. On the menu bar, click DLP.
  2. Click the All Devices tab.
  3. Select the device from which you want to remove auto-delete on hold.
  4. Click Mark Normal.

  • Was this article helpful?