Skip to main content

 

Druva Documentation

Managing users added to inSync

This topic explains how to view the list of users created in inSync and their devices. It contains instructions on changing the email address, profile, and quota assigned to a user. It also contains instructions for disabling, enabling, and deleting users.

Viewing the list of users

To view the list of all users

  • On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.

The list of all users created in inSync is displayed.

clipboard_1376470643734.png

Viewing device list of a user

To view the devices on which a user has activated inSync client or inSync companion app

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the user whose device list you want to view. The user details page is displayed. 
  3. Click Devices tab.

The list of devices assigned to the user is displayed. 

Changing the email address, profile, or quota of a user

Changing the email address of a user

To change the email address of a user

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the user whose details you want to modify.
  3. Click the Summary tab.
  4. Under User Summary, click Edit. The edit window appears.
    edituser.png
  5. In the Email address field, enter the new email ID of the user.
  6. Click Save.

Changing the profile assigned to a user

To change the profile assigned to a user

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the user whose details you want to modify.
  3. Click the Summary tab.
  4. Under User Summary, click Edit. The edit window appears.
  5. In the Profile list, select the desired profile for the user.
  6. Click Save.

Changing the quota for a user

To change the quota assigned to a user

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Click the user whose details you want to modify.
  3. Click the Summary tab.
  4. Under User Summary, click Edit. The edit window appears.
  5. In the User quota field, enter the desired quota for the user. Enter 0 (zero) if you want to assign unlimited quota to the user.
  6. Click Save.
Note: A user is allotted the quota defined in the profile assigned to the user. Any change in the quota defined in the profile is immediately applied to the user too. However, if you change the quota of the user, changes to the quota defined in the profile is not reflected on the user.   

Resetting the password of a user

To reset password for the user

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users for whom you want to reset the password.
  3. Click More > Reset Password. The Reset Password window appears.

     clipboard_1376470810336.png

  4. If required, customize the subject and body of the reset password email.
  5. Click Reset Password.

New passwords are emailed to the users.

Enabling or disabling users

Disabling users

Disabling users has the following effects:

  • Their license to use inSync is revoked.
  • They cannot backup or share data using inSync.
  • The data backed up from their devices are retained in the storage.
  • The quota restrictions continue to apply.
  • Only the inSync administrator can download their data, unless the users had revoked access permission for the administrator.

 

To disable users

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users you want to disable.
  3. Click Disable.

Enabling Users

Enabling users resumes backups from their devices.

 

To enable users

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users you want to enable.
  3. Click Enable.

Deleting users

Deleting users have the following effects:

  • Their license to use inSync is revoked.
  • They cannot backup or share data using inSync.
  • The data backed up from their devices are deleted from the storage.
  • Their folders inside the inSync Share folder are deleted.

 

To delete users

  1. On the menu bar, click Manage > Users.
  2. Select the users that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

  • Was this article helpful?